Jimmy Eat World Futures
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AtavanHalen
February 22nd 2012


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's all about Work and 23

Boss tracks

blackparade
February 22nd 2012


133 Comments


no,its all about emo

boss emo

AtavanHalen
February 22nd 2012


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

touche

NOTINTHEFACE
February 22nd 2012


1653 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

That's fair enough. I just feel that it actually drags in some parts, to the point that it kills the atmosphere the great songs build. I don't think all the songs necessarily need to be as good as Polaris for it to be a classic. I just tend to think of songs like Polaris as flukes on this album rather than climaxes.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


16789 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Their lyrics are lame generalized cliches that aren't even remotely touching to anyone

What makes them lame generalized cliches? I understand that there are subtle and metaphorical ways to say things, but sometimes direct and honest works. Assuming that people can't (or implying that they shouldn't) be moved by the lyrics on this album is as closed-minded as saying that you shouldn't listen to an album because it's too hard to hear what the singer is saying.

Digging: Damien Rice - My Favourite Faded Fantasy

thebhoy
Emeritus
February 22nd 2012


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hmm, I retract the second part of that statement, it's not quite what I meant. But cliches mean they aren't direct an honest, they don't actually tell you anything about how Adkins feels about the situations, they're all vague notions of emotiveness. For example: all of "Drugs or Me." (from Just Tonight) "We'll never be the same, never feel this way again / I'd give you anything but you want pain." (From Kill) "You kill me, you always know the perfect thing to say (hey hey, hey hey) / I know what I should do, but I just can't walk away." (From Nothing Wrong): "We've done nothing wrong, / But we've done nothing! / We can't look away, / But we're just looking in!"

etc. etc.

Look, I get the whole nostalgia thing, but these are easy ways of approaching subjects that don't speak to any sort of real problem (except for Drugs or Me which manages to take a sledgehammer to the subject) and so they promote the sense of "oh man JEW really GET me and my problems." Because these lyrics really don't say anything at all. I get the point of hte review is to reveal how this music creates a solace for you, but my problem is that they create the same pseudo-solace for everyone at a particular point in their lives, and so they put on this show of compassion and understanding without any of the hard work.

I'm not trying to harp on you for liking the album, because there are some genuinely good to great songs on here (like I said, 23), but if nostalgia is the requirement for making an album a classic then idk




SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


16789 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I get what you're saying too, and there are definitely bands out there that exploit the whole method of "let's say something vague that we know will appeal to ____ (target audience) and everyone will think we are profoundly emotional." I just disagree that Jimmy Eat World (and this album, in particular) falls under that category. "If only you could see the stranger next to me" seems like a completely original way to tell someone close to you that they are fading, and it has always hit home really hard with me. I would get started on '23', but it seems like you agree with me for the most part that it rules. Are all the lyrics groundbreakingly original? No. But they are resoundingly honest and transcendent to such a wide range of listeners that the simplicity works.

And if they are playing the vague notions game that you alluded to, then I'll be damned if they aren't so good at it that they should be commended/highly acclaimed for their mastery of it.

thebhoy
Emeritus
February 22nd 2012


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You think that that's an original way to tell someone close to you that they are fading? It's an Arthurian ideal of trying to save someone because you know what's best for them and they don't and if only they could see the world through YOUR eyes (instead of the other way around because empathy is a one-way street apparently) then they would be able to fix themselves.

My view is that it just can't be transcendent because it's so surface level. Take those lyrics from "Nothing Wrong" -- the sentiment of stasis that the song is approaching is not the problem, but the lyrics just say "hey, you know what, we're doing okay, but if we don't take chances how will we know we can't become the PRESIDENT OF ASTRONAUTS" (okay, I know, that's ridiculous, but you get my point).

But now our discussion is making me think of something, so I guess overall I like your review? Things that make me think are generally A-ok in my books. So congrats, your review is better than the album (to me)! haha

Island
February 22nd 2012


577 Comments


beard strokin on emo-pop

AtavanHalen
February 22nd 2012


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what the fuck

actual discussion

calm discussion

on sputnik

why isn't someone calling someone a faggot

is this real life

Island
February 22nd 2012


577 Comments


staff dont use the word faggot

i bet knott would if i rile him up enough

who wants to join me over in the fun. thread with some dick scissors?

klap
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


10545 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Keelan's been analyzing music like this since he could talk

Digging: Jessie Ware - Tough Love

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


17224 Comments


Keelan has opinions that are too long to read itt

thebhoy
Emeritus
February 22nd 2012


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wish I had a big ol' beard I could stroke. It would have to be somewhat unkempt and greying

AtavanHalen
February 22nd 2012


17927 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

salt and pepper beards are delish

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


2719 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Wacked this on after seeing this review, nostalgia's hitting hard. I doubt that I'd 5 it if I came across it today, but damn this album was what got me into music in the first place.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


23971 Comments


faggots, the lot of you

(is this just fantasy)

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


16789 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Beard stroking over a Jimmy Eat World album does seem lol-worthy though

thebhoy
Emeritus
February 22nd 2012


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's true. I'm in that frame of mind perpetually at the moment though, so it seemed inevitable that it would end up in this area

thebhoy
Emeritus
February 22nd 2012


4461 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

hang on I'll fix this: lol butts



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy