The Menzingers On the Impossible Past
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BlackTaxi2d
February 21st 2012


106 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

for as much as he says "american muscle car" i really love this album

jdennis31
February 21st 2012


6511 Comments


daveyboy can you do a review of strange vacations album? it's in the genre of reviews you usually post, and think you would like them if you like dangerous summer.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There's definitely a lot of "American muscle car" references, although I think there is even more about waitresses.

Strange Vacations? Never heard of them... Hell, they're not even in the Sputnik database.

TheNewWhack
February 21st 2012


1472 Comments


Coz I cursed my lonely memory with picture-perfect imagery of saggy tits on the album cover

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha. That does seem to fit a little too nicely.

Knott-
Emeritus
February 21st 2012


10198 Comments


Weird how much "The Obituaries" sounds like it could be a Motion City Soundtrack song.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 21st 2012


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hadn't really thought of that, but I guess so... Maybe with a little less swearing.

iFghtffyrdmns
February 22nd 2012


7047 Comments


damn, this sounds pretty good and I should actually listen to these dudes.
excellent write up davey

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks man. It's definitely worth a trip through their discog.

BTW, if I actually had to pick their best release, I'd cheat & say their EP 'Hold On, Dodge'.

henryChinaski
February 22nd 2012


2848 Comments


Never heard of these guys. I love 'Mexican Guitars' though. I might get this. Nice review!

sixthgoldenticket
February 22nd 2012


1176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

WHY ALL GOOD THINGS SHOULD FALL APART.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 22nd 2012


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Henry, you must have missed Eric's super hyping review of their previous LP. Got a lot of air around Sputniksville.

I must say, the short'ish opener was probably the song that grew on me most.

henryChinaski
February 22nd 2012


2848 Comments


Seems i did miss that one. I have to check out the recommended bands. Regarding this kind of sound i've only listened to Gaslight Anthem so far. Really like the atmosphere in these songs. Kinda hard to describe.

sportsboy
February 22nd 2012


642 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

am i the only one reminded of green day by "the obituaries"

Satellite
February 22nd 2012


20826 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

probably

but it's not that much of a stretch

wabbit
February 22nd 2012


7035 Comments


SeaEric is completely obsessed with this...I think he just misses 'merica. But ya album is awesomer than their last one which was pretty awesome.

Satellite
February 22nd 2012


20826 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

seaeric was the first to review this band if my memory serves me correctly

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2012


17231 Comments


just usurped Loma as my favorite album of the early year.

Satellite
February 23rd 2012


20826 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

listen to the new sidekicks and cheap girls if you've not done so already adam

Athom
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2012


17231 Comments


already have.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy