Eluveitie Helvetios
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Thanntos
February 19th 2012


319 Comments


Yea I know, I def want to, just gone more into my old 'lurker mode' self again haha. Been busy with college and other stuff just trying to look for time.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2012


7041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Killer album, spot on review : ]

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks master of ipods. I have noticed that you've been a lot more low-key as well as of late.

BallsToTheWall
February 19th 2012


44360 Comments


My link didn't work so ill probably just buy this sometime this week.

Digging: Pharmakon - Abandon

Wizard
February 19th 2012


19402 Comments


You write so damn well Magnus, you trump me with quality in your reviews. Band has done fuck all for me in the past so I would just assume skipping this.

Digging: Khonsu - Traveller

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If the band hasn't done anything for you in the past then yea, this isn't going to change your perception of them. Also, thanks for the kind words Karl, but always remember that you've had a big part in my development as a writer because of your critique and advice :]

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2012


7041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks master of ipods. I have noticed that you've been a lot more low-key as well as of late.

Simply, works a bitch. Apprentices don't have much of a life outside of work. I'd like to write a little more and contribute more frequently but everytime i turn around I have to do another 10 hour shift.
Actually I wanted to be first in to review this but alas, didn't happen.
Props to you man, have you're well deserved pos.


Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah, I didn't even know that you wanted to review this. Oh well, I planned on doing this anyway and you can always post your version when you've got time to write one.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2012


7041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Na, tis all good. Your's is ace enough to smack the nay-sayers away. That and mine at the moment is a little too similar to yours but with no mention of their undetermined future. Maybe a soundoff will suffice lol.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do as you think is best is all that I will say.

NocteDominum
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2012


7041 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Got a rec for you: Secrets Of The Moon - Privilegivm
That's all I'll give you, you can tell me what you think.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2012


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not the biggest black metal fan but I'll youtube a few tracks tomorrow to see if I like it enough to get the whole album.

Gonna go to sleep now since it's 2 AM here and I've got to get up in 6 hours, so good night, man.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2012


7338 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I've got a massive soft spot for folk metal in general, this kinda rules.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2012


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Same here, but alas, folk metal's roster really isn't that deep and most of the smaller bands kinda blow.

Nagrarok
February 20th 2012


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah this is pretty good but it could use some trimming and a standout track or two.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2012


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Imo it does have standout tracks in Helvetios, Luxtos and Uxellodunon (plus the intro and outro which are both delightful). I personally don't mind the length, but you're not the first to complain about it.

Nagrarok
February 20th 2012


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree about the three songs you mentioned being among the best moments, the intro and outro have little value outside of the album itself though. As much as I enjoy a dose of folk metal, the sound always has its limits, so when something pushes the hour it doesn't exactly ask for too many revisits.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2012


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the intro and outro have little value outside of the album itself though.
This is true, but when you listen to the album from top to bottom they really contribute to the whole story and atmosphere. I especially love the ending, it has a rather epic feel to it.
As much as I enjoy a dose of folk metal, the sound always has its limits, so when something pushes the hour it doesn't exactly ask for too many revisits.
This is half-true when it comes to myself. I absolutely agree with the sound having its limits, but when a folk metal album is done really well, I can definitely stomach an hour-long runtime and, as opposed to you, will come back to it, seeing as folk metal, like I believe I said somewhere above already, doesn't have too deep of a talent pool, so I always appreciate it when a well done folk metal album comes along.

Nagrarok
February 20th 2012


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is half-true when it comes to myself. I absolutely agree with the sound having its limits, but when a folk metal album is done really well, I can definitely stomach an hour-long runtime and, as opposed to you, will come back to it, seeing as folk metal, like I believe I said somewhere above already, doesn't have too deep of a talent pool, so I always appreciate it when a well done folk metal album comes along.


I hear you, and I do actually think this album is folk metal done well. It's just more of a 'fun' genre for me, so I'm not easily amazed. Interested in giving Slania another spin now to see how they compare.



Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
February 20th 2012


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a "fun" genre for me too, obviously. I seriously doubt there's a single person on this site who listens to folk metal because it's thought-or-emotion-provoking music to get lost into haha. In fact, I don't think we even have a person here whose favorite genre of all is folk metal.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy