Les Discrets Ariettes Oubliees...
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wizard
February 11th 2012


19874 Comments


lol is this implying that neige has anything to do with this?

My bad, I thought he had something to do with this band since they sound like alot of the stuff he would write.

Zettel
February 11th 2012


606 Comments


Very good review, though I do feel it is a bit harsh on the album. Obviously, it is not a big departure from the first one, but it is very good nonetheless. It is only a little shorter than the debut, but it feels lighter and less dense.

I like a lot Fursy's songwriting and style, so I do not really mind more songs in the same vein. It is too early to criticize the band for lack of evolution, and this album should not disappoint those who liked their debut.

feanaro
February 11th 2012


965 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I have no problem with the rating, I was a little dissatisfied with some of the stuff on here myself, but the things you used to support it made it sound like you listened to this one as background music and then decided to write a review.

Zettel
February 12th 2012


606 Comments


Well, Xenophanes has an interesting point regarding the changes to their sound because... I cannot see them! I mean, outside from one the collaboration in the bonus disc, this sounds pretty much like the first record. I agree some of if might sound blander (maybe 'cause there are less *heavier* songs?), but boring, for me, this is not. If you mildly liked the first record, I can see why you would not be crazy about this.

I might have to give this more listens, though. I find it interesting Alcest and Les Discrets keep releasing albums the same year so far, only this time I am enjoying Les Discrets' one much more.

TheVoiceAndTheSnake
February 12th 2012


3663 Comments


cool

JizzInMyPants
February 12th 2012


2420 Comments


this album has a more....indie/urban feel compared to the first one which was str8 up forest like to me.

so yes to me, this is quite the departure from the first album atmosphere wise.

Gmork89
February 16th 2012


5777 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I highly doubt this is a 3.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2012


19648 Comments


it probably is like 2 max

i mean fenaro likes it so yeah

Digging: Robert Hood - Wire To Wire

Shogun
February 17th 2012


427 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really enjoyed this.



Preferred it to the new Alcest.

DarkNoctus
February 18th 2012


9195 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

this really wore off me, and quickly. :[

Digging: Mourning Beloveth - Dust

TheVoiceAndTheSnake
February 18th 2012


3663 Comments


really?

DarkNoctus
February 18th 2012


9195 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

it just doesn't have anywhere near the replayability as the first album, the album weaves between songs that are an obvious step forward and others that are just a watered down version of the first and it just lacks cohesion. :[

feanaro
February 19th 2012


965 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

wowee, that was quick



this grew off a little at first for me but then it grew back. still convinced that it's clearly better than the first

DarkNoctus
February 19th 2012


9195 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

i guess part of me is disappointed that nothing even comes close to la traversee, it renders the rest of the album near enough useless :[

feanaro
February 19th 2012


965 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I definitely understand that, really nothing else comes close. I still think La Nuit Muerte and Au Creux de L'Hiver are really awesome and the rest supplements it well enough. Fursy still needs to work on consistency a lot.



so i guess this means no review then? :[

DarkNoctus
February 19th 2012


9195 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

well i could review it since there are a few things in this review i disagree with but idk if it'd be all that relevant :[

DarkNoctus
February 19th 2012


9195 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

well in that case i might give it a go :]

feanaro
February 20th 2012


965 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Would definitely be interesting, I'd like to hear more about exactly what caused that drastic shift



still I think this one needs a more positive review so I might give it a shot too

Willie
Moderator
February 22nd 2012


16229 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Never heard these guys before this... god damn, that was boring.

fuckthatnoise
March 13th 2012


1479 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah, i constantly forget that this band even exists.



it's like, when i want to listen to this type of music, i instantly think of alcest. it's a shame too, i WANT to like these guys... maybe someday they'll stop seeming so invisible to me.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy