Of Montreal Paralytic Stalks
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Anthracks
January 30th 2013


3740 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Kevin testing out a couple new songs acoustically:

http://www.npr.org/event/music/169709211/of-montreal-tiny-desk-concert

The new songs start at 4:00. The next album will be Outlaw Country / Folk

Digging: Perfume Genius - Too Bright

Lakes.
March 8th 2013


27687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so underrated, dour percentage is a contender for my favorite song of 2012

Digging: Arthur Russell - World of Echo

Anthracks
April 29th 2013


3740 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

seriously who replaced "Prince" with "Phoenix" on the similar artists for this band...lmao

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2013


10190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Sweet, sweet album.

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

Lakes.
April 29th 2013


27687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

agreed

demigod!
April 29th 2013


44348 Comments


only heard cherry peel by these guys


Digging: Portishead - Dummy

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2013


10190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Demi, I'd advise you to check this out. It's whimsical, adventurous and fucking weird.

LilLioness
April 29th 2013


2496 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There are parts of this album that I love and others that fall flatter than most of Flaming Lips discog.

Lakes.
April 29th 2013


27687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i agree but only a very few parts fall flat

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2013


10190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I actually think the opener and last two tracks are the weakest. The heart of this album is where it's at.

Lakes.
April 29th 2013


27687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

agreed

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 29th 2013


10190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Like, Exorcismic Breeding Knife is about as musically passable as Tera Melos' Melody 8. Both of them are cool ideas on paper, but listening to them is the equivalent of pissing with a bladder infection.

Anthracks
April 30th 2013


3740 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i love ebk. one of my favorites on the album

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2013


10190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

How do you see the song, Anthracks? I'd just like to hear a well-rounded positive opinion on the track, because I'd like to understand the logic behind it.

Anthracks
April 30th 2013


3740 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i find it to be the most relaxing track on the album. granted i will admit that it does interrupt
the "flow" of the album a little bit. it would've worked best, at least in most listeners' minds,
if this kind of experiment was left (and expanded upon) on an EP or something. I do think it fits
with the general story of the album, though, as I see the album as a slow descent into a vague type
of psychosis, a more pedestrian type that we would probably more readily describe as deep internal
frustration with one's place in the world, and eventually enlightenment, as life is kind of just
painful sequences of going from
feeling enlightened to feeling a little unsure and how those things play upon each other. it's just
the most striking track to me because it's almost like magnifying the neurons of someone who is just
breaking down and finally realizing their worth, the kind of sinister feeling gives the impression
that this person is very confident and by no means is insecure, but at the same time feels
incomplete in some way shape or form because how complete can we really feel

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
April 30th 2013


10190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Damn, that's an interesting way of looking at it. I see why you'd dig the song that much, in that case.

I definitely respect the aesthetic statements the song makes, but it's tricky... Like, what the song conveys is a really fucked-up thing, and it does a stellar job at conveying that. But how much praise are we supposed to bestow an artist for recreating something so inherently laborious to listen to? Am I making sense?

sideburndude
April 30th 2013


2782 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hell such a good album

Lakes.
April 30th 2013


27687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, exorcismic breeding knife is a good idea and everything but it just creeps me the hell out, makes me really uncomfortable. it's a success at what it tries to be for sure but i don't know if that's necessarily a good thing in this case

Ire
May 4th 2013


41763 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

rules. vinyld this

Anthracks
May 4th 2013


3740 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

what color did u get



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy