Van Halen A Different Kind of Truth
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Atavan giving a cock-rock album a 3 is like a 5.5 for everyone else. I doubt he'll be sinking beers to it on a Friday night like Sauce will be though.

I think the album could have done without 'Stay Frosty'. It would make for an excellent bonus track on a Deluxe Edition though.

Awesomesauce
February 9th 2012



1083 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agreed. And if Atavan prefered, there would possibly be a 1997 Peter Lehmann Shiraz and a leopard-skin rug in front of a open fire on offer. Only if he plays his cards right and his cock-rock loud though.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hehehe.

1997, you're kidding. I mean, the last time I went to the Barossa, I got an early 2000's version, but 1997!?!?!? You're far to kind Sauce.

Plus, Atavan would probably think it was rasberry jam or something.

AtavanHalen
February 9th 2012



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

if I may

I have no idea what either of you are fucking on about

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

LOL. Jam, we're talking about really runny jam.

AtavanHalen
February 9th 2012



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

have fun with that queers

WhiteNoise
February 9th 2012



3046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I can see why people would hate stay Frosty, but i'm a sucker for that distorted tone eddie has going on it.

Digging: Dot Hacker - How's Your Process? (Work)

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I wonder if it may have worked better as the closer.

TheNotrap
February 9th 2012



7983 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Indeed a very enjoyable album.
"Honeybabysweetiedoll", "You and Your Blues" and "As Is" are my favourite songs here.

Revisiting the past proved to be a smart move.

ladisputer
February 9th 2012



3 Comments


tis album is so meeh. i was expectin way more from them

StrizzMatik
February 9th 2012



3176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

LOL how could anyone expect more than what they did here? They're fucking old and half the songs on here were written in their prime. This album is probably the band's finest musical moment from a technical standpoint, has the energy of bands half their age, and kicks the crap out of anything in the Top 40. Not too bad IMO

Digging: United Nations - The Next Four Years

Imperial
February 9th 2012



1721 Comments


tis album is so meeh. i was expectin way more from them


You heard Van Halen III right?

Digging: Plebeian Grandstand - Lowgazers

AtavanHalen
February 9th 2012



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

kicks the crap out of anything in the Top 40


AHAHAHAHAHAHA

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2012



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It really does, though. After a two decades of beyond-lazy rock, this is pretty refreshing to hear.

KILL
February 9th 2012



70599 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

top 40 is gay atavan you gota learn that oh wait it suits your lifestyle hehehe

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

WhiteNoise
February 9th 2012



3046 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I dunno Top 40 is all over the place, sometimes it can be awesome sometimes it's utter crap.

AtavanHalen
February 9th 2012



17927 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I ONLY LIKE NEW MUSIC FROM BANDS THAT HAVE BEEN AROUND FOR LONGER THAN 10 YEARS

I HATE THE RADIO MAN

SO INDIVIDUAL

CLASSIC ROK 4 LIFE

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2012



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Pretty ignorant comment, but ok.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2012



20855 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Glad you liked it TheNoTrap. Never a doubt though.

I'm with Strizz on the expectations factor. I was thinking 2.5 at best after hearing 'Tattoo'.

I think the Top 40 comment was meaning top 40 rock.

taylormemer
February 9th 2012



4913 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not bad so far.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy