Van Halen A Different Kind of Truth
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
fsharptrit0ne
February 6th 2012


4815 Comments


this cant be good can it

KILL
February 6th 2012


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yup

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

Nagrarok
February 6th 2012


8315 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Surprisingly solid indeed.

BigHans
February 6th 2012


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still need to jam this

Yuma310
February 6th 2012


1656 Comments


starting too lose faith in electronica. THANK GOD THESE GUY CAME BACK. going to change the face of dub step

KILL
February 6th 2012


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0



Jethro42
February 6th 2012


12623 Comments




DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks Jamie, Conor & Omni. I hope I haven't built it up too much.

Imperial, I'd almost go as far as saying 'Tattoo' is the worst song here. In isolation, I wouldn't say there is anything worse (although many will dislike 'Stay Frosty'), it's more that there are a few tracks that sound a little too similar. 13 tracks is too much, especially when VH have only had 9 on a LP a couple of times.

Well said Strizz. 'China Town' just ahead of 'As Is' for me, although the latter may admittedly age better.

bloc, you won't like it... There's no keys.

"a comeback album that doesn't suck? intriguing" That may have made a good summary.

Welcome to the site Orpheus. Great to hear you like this so much. There’s no doubt I had to first get over my low expectations before objectively rating it.

Exactly what I thought fsharptrit0ne. But yes, it can… It is

Not good enough Hans… You need to change your avatar to “synth breakdown” now.

I see many of you are lost for words.

Dev518
February 6th 2012


574 Comments


How does this compare to their early stuff?

Anthracks
February 6th 2012


3796 Comments


Hmmmm Tattoo was hilariously bad, although annoyingly catchy. Still undecided on whether or not I will check this out further.

Digging: The Decemberists - What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Best album I've heard so far this year.

And probably the most technical album Van Halen's ever made.

J0ckstrapsFTW
February 6th 2012


3658 Comments


This is the band I can actually listen to from the 80's will check this out

sublimefan1991
February 6th 2012


766 Comments


i hate van halen almost more than i hate any other band in the world. they're easily in my bottom 5. fuck this band, goddamit they're terrible.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"How does this compare to their early stuff?" Similar in sound & style, but does not quite reach the same heights. Definitely worth a listen if you thought their early stuff was 4 or above.

Anthracks, completely ignore that you heard 'Tattoo'. There's hardly anything on here similar to that.

Ditto AoD. Ooh, interesting discussion point re: it's technicality. It would be right up there.

Oh come on, the 80s ruled. What about Huey Lewis & the News? ;-)

WhiteNoise
February 7th 2012


3253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

haha I bought this today but haven't had a proper listen yet. I've heard quite a few positive reviews and the fact that I thought it would be complete rubbish only makes the record better.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2012


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don't worry about all those other positive reviews, it's mine that counts! ;-)

Was just in JB before & it's all over the shop. Looks like there is a Deluxe Edition with 4 or 5 acoustic tracks also available for purchase.

WhiteNoise
February 7th 2012


3253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha yeah seven songs in and I am loving this. The vocals are a little shaky, but the guitar work more than makes up for that!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2012


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, can't disagree with those comments.

jimmykidd
February 7th 2012


534 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

surprisingly a solid album. i didn't have an awful time listening to it at all.

nice review davey

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2012


20858 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks... & well put.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy