Therapy? A Brief Crack of Light
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Kingdok
February 17th 2012


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow, now that I've been living with the album for 2 weeks thought I'd stick the T? albums up in favourite order! (Hafta say that I'm one of the few that loves Marlow, so prob placed ABCOL slightly higher than most.)



Troublegum>NANE>SP-YF>ABCOL>Babyteeth>Crooked Timber>Semi-Detached>High Anxiety>Nurse>Infernal Love>Pleasure Death>Shameless>OCFA.



Faves on this one so far are Living in the Shadow, Before You, Dead Hand and Ghost Trio.

greg84
Emeritus
February 17th 2012


7582 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool! Another Therapy? fan. I'd personally rank Shameless higher and Troublegum and NANE lower. SP-YF is probably my favorite album of theirs, but this one, High Anxiety and Crooked Timber are pretty close behind. Their albums are all awesome in their own way though. These guys have a knack for reinventing themselves with every new release.

Digging: Ibibio Sound Machine - Uyai

Kingdok
February 18th 2012


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Totally. When I first heard this one, I thought it was slightly Crooked Timber-ish, but still a new direction. Now it just sounds like Therapy?!



I think Ill always love Troublegum the most, I still remember it coming out and completely blowing me away, like nothing Id ever heard. Die Laughing was the track then, and its still kinda my high water mark. My only problem with Shameless is that after the incredible I Am The Money, the general quality dips and never really gets back for me. They're such a good band tho that I rate all the albums anyway!

greg84
Emeritus
February 18th 2012


7582 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The first T? album I've heard was Semi-Detached. It was back in 1998 (I guess) when my friend lent me this cd saying something like 'I'm sure you'll dig' Well, needless to say he was totally right. I dug it and I still think the album contains some of the strongest T? songs in Safe, Born Too Soon, Straight Life and The Boy's Asleep.



Shameless is one of the most listened T? album for me. I adore Endless Psychology, Dance, Body Bag Girl and Joey (feat. Clutch) to name a few.

Kingdok
February 19th 2012


47 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also Lonely, Crying Only. The more straight-up pop punky songs aren't usually my favourites, but I love this one.



I do like Joey, got some fantastic lyrics, but not big on Endless Psychology or Body Bag Girl at all tho. Horses for courses I guess!



Check out the link for a top hardcore cover of Knives, awesome Bristol band Cars On Fire:

carsonfire.bandcamp.com/track/knives

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2012


2376 Comments


Maybe its just personal preference, but i believe this the band's best album since 'high anxiety'. Its not just the revitalised riffs used on earlier records, or the rawness and velocity of songs such as 'Stark raving sane' and 'living in the shadow of a terrible thing that necessarily catches my attention, but the little things like the low-key epic 'Ecclesiastes', that showcase the band's talent for definite. One of the best of 2012 so far.

greg84
Emeritus
February 19th 2012


7582 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You may be right that it's their best work since High Anxiety, though I still don't know if I prefer this to Crooked Timber. Ecclesiastes is a grower. I remember I wasn't fond of it at first.

Firestarter
February 22nd 2012


278 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is the biggest grower I've listened to in a while. Absolutely love The Buzzing. Stick with it guys, it gets better and better the more you listen to it

Dewinged
January 12th 2017


3629 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Therapy? in space?! Gotta jam this.

Digging: Gospel - The Moon Is a Dead World

Dewinged
January 12th 2017


3629 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well that was pretty meh. T? in space. Sure, man.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2017


12734 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It's a 2.5



Therapy? in love with Fugazi on this one

Digging: The Posies - Success

Dewinged
January 12th 2017


3629 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Tryin hard to get on to that Troublegum money horse and not happening, Doof. Sad, really.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2017


12734 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Troublegum is easily one of the best rock albums of the 90s, I don't know your ratings so not sure what you liked that decade but if you like any similar rock bands from the era that album has to be at least a 4/5



EDIT: You 5'd Infernal Love and Troublegum? :/

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2017


12734 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, most of their later stuff is just shades of disappointing.



One of Semi-Detached, Suicide Pact or Crooked Timber might fare better with you. They're probably the best of the post-Infernal Love albums. I do quite like Disquiet too but I see you have that 3'd

Dewinged
January 12th 2017


3629 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah man, I 5'ed them, shitting on my objectivity because of their high emotional value. I burnt those CDs in my brain back in the day man. I am going backwards in their discography, hoping to find something close to those 2 albums, but so far... meh.

DoofusWainwright
Contributing Reviewer
January 12th 2017


12734 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Semi detached is the closest but there's always been something just off about it. Still a good album even if I only regard it as being a small level above Disquiet



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy