Therapy? A Brief Crack of Light
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2012


21392 Comments


Listening to this now. I'm digging it.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Awesome man. Keep on rocking!

Digging: Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Rhythm

TheFonz123
February 7th 2012


2795 Comments


which of these is thier best? just to get me started. you have good taste in music so I listen to you if you say this band is good

xist
February 7th 2012


171 Comments


Excluding Merlow would be a serious no-no from me. It's a top song on the album and probably the best instrumental T? have ever done.


There's no way i'd rate it over Big Cave In, and perhaps not Sky High McKaye either. I've not heard Treacle Feet so no idea about that one, nor Beefheart/Albini.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ I agree. Big Cave In is their best instrumental and one of their best songs overall. Hands down. Treacle Feet was good. I wasn't crazy about it though tbh.

@TheFonz123:
Well. It really depends on what you're looking for. If it's accessible rock, check out High Anxiety and Semi-Detached first. If you're tired of obvious rock and want something more experimental/noisy, check out Suicide Pact-You First and this.


Firestarter
February 8th 2012


277 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I'd recommend starting with High Anxiety. It's catchy as hell and has some really good songs!

However Crooked Timbre is awesome if you like experimental groove oriented stuff. Great dirty bass sound and brilliant drumming on that one.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah. High Anxiety is an underrated gem. Their whole discography is really strong.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Here's a great interview with Andy Cairns:

http://iheartau.com/2012/02/therapy-3/

TrephineArtist
February 8th 2012


200 Comments


Really looking forward to hearing this one, 'Crooked timber' was pretty damn good, still my fave Therapy? album is by far 'Semi-detached' such an overlooked album, would've been a big hit if it had followed 'Troublegum'.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 8th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Semi-Detached is the first Therapy? album I've heard. It definitely has some of their best songs: Safe, Born Too Soon, The Boy's Asleep, Straight Life, Tightrope Walker, Tramline. The album kicks ass of course. Mad props.

maboleth
February 8th 2012


4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Thanks.

I'm the fan that was TOTALLY disappointed when SP-YF came out. I wasn't expecting that and I couldn't believe they made such a mess after Troublegum-Infernal-Semi. It wasn't because of the music - I couldn't stand the vocals, mumbling and shouting in the background.

Today?
Few good songs (Six mile water, Sister, He's not that kind of girl), others are meh or still annoying as hell (other people's misery, god kicks). In fact SP-YF is the only T? album that I don't own. Tried to like it so much, but nope. The cover is great though...sigh.

Years after that fans complained about Shameless, but I loved it so much and still do. I guess tastes differ.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

SP-YF might be my favorite T? album, I really dig their sound on it. Plus, the songwritng is top-notch. Other People's Misery is a furious punk track that works so well in the context of this disc. It's certainly their most uncompromising work today and I really love the fact that they suddenly shifted from writing catchy tunes (Semi-Detached was so full of them) to furious, no-holds barred noise rock.

Shameless is their most underrated album. I just don't understand why people didn't respond to it very well. It showcases T? going back to the origins of rock'n'roll. The songwriting is slightly unhinged, but it's all to an excellent effect. There are plenty of classic T? moments there too.

maboleth
February 9th 2012


4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Well, all albums after Nurse were great, melodic, dark and atmospheric. When SP-YF came out, it was like three, no, ten steps back from that direction. It was like return to Caucasian Psychosis in some way. I was seriously disappointed, though the lyrics shined.

For me T? will always be about great melodic tunes with mad drumming. However, I do like their post SP-YF material. I never ever liked their crash-boom-trang-bang-bad-vocals songs.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 9th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I love everything past SP-YF except One Cure Fits All. This album's most definitely their weakest.

maboleth
February 9th 2012


4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You're right, One Cure isn't their best... but then there are few gems on it - Sprung, Into the light, Our White Noise, Private Nobody, Rain Hits concrete. I dig all those songs.

By the way, the more I listen to Crack of Light, the more I *love* it! My current favourites are get your dead hand of my shoulder, before you... and plague bell. I listen those on repeat, then change for something else and whoooaaa. Always discovering something new.

I also love the use of vocoder on some songs... it works. (:

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The use of vocoder is particularly effective on Get Your Dead Hand Off My Shoulder. Ecclesiestes is also pretty good. Not their best closer though.

Plague Bell, Get Your Dead Hand..., Why Turbulence?, The Buzzing and Ghost Trio are my favorite tracks on here. They all rank among Therapy?'s best.

Detritivore
February 10th 2012


271 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good Review for a good album - I must admit I expected a bit more after Crooked Timber.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 10th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

If it weren't for Marlow, I'd prefer it to Crooked Timber actually... But, I seriously don't know which one's better. CT might be more accessible than this, but it doesn't mean it's superior.

Liam8VIII
February 16th 2012


90 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review man! I only set up my account yesterday but I remember when this album arrived through my letterbox the other week, I was listening to it and reading this review at the same time (I think I saw your post on last.fm...) Definitley agree on Marlow sounding slightly out of place but overall it's another fine release from Therapy? Why Turbulence is my favourite so far.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 16th 2012


7428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks man. Much appreciated. Why Turbulence? absolutely destroys! It's between this, Pague Bell and Get Your Dead Hand Off My Shoulder when it comes to the best song on the album. The Buzzing and Ghost Trio are also cracking.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy