Therapy? A Brief Crack of Light
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Buccaneer
February 6th 2012



692 Comments


definitely checking this out, im a big fan of the band

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Cool. Another die-hard Therapy? fan on the site. Let me know what you think.

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

Buccaneer
February 6th 2012



692 Comments


Well, i wont say im a "die-hard" fan, as ive yet to check out their entire discography. Ive only heard Troublegum, Semi-Detached, Infernal Love and Crooked Timber. But ive been listening to them all quite heavily...I think Troublegum was pretty much all I listened to during my high school days.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

All immense albums except perhaps Infernal Love which I'm not a big fan of. You should definitely check out Suicide Pact - You First, High Anxiety and Never Apologise, Never Explain aside from this one.

MartianKyo
February 6th 2012



23 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I am liking this album. Interesting it seems that all therapy? fans have that one album that didn't sit well with them, for me it was Shameless.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really dig retro rock off Shameless. Even though I initially didn't think too highly of it, I find myself revisiting it over and over again. So, it definitely stands the taste of time for me.

My least favorite Therapy? album has to be One Cure Fits All. They really sounded bored on this disc. It had very simplistic songwriting. Glad they returned to form quickly.

BigHans
February 6th 2012



26455 Comments


sweet new Therapy

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Their 13th studio album and they still slay!

xist
February 6th 2012



171 Comments


I've listened through the album twice over now. Whilst that's not exactly familiarity with it, there's no way i can see this scoring over 3.5 and i'd more likely award it a 2.5 or a 3.0. IMO Crooked Timber was better...and honestly, the "clattering" cascading drum patterns have got old at this point. They were fresh back on Nurse, went away for a while, and are now back with a vengeance.



It's also probably not a place for a first timer to Therapy? to start either. Cairns has lost his knack for memorable catchiness that he's always shown on every other T? album.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I really like the drums on this album no matter how 1992 they sound like. They aren't really obvious, bland or boring, which is the case in the majority of rock albums released nowadays.

I don't think "Cairns has lost his knack for memorable catchiness". The approach towards songwriting here is quite different from their previous releases. The band focuses more on atmospherics than songwriting. You see I don't really think they wanted this album to be catchy. They just evolved into a totally different direction. Whether you like it or not, it's your choice.

xist
February 6th 2012



171 Comments


I don't have a problem with the drums, it's just for me a Therapy? which is repeating something isn't the T? i grew up with. The drums in and of themselves are great and keep things interesting. Yes that's a bit of a contradictory statement but i never really thought that the band would be so reliant on old tricks.

As for atmospherics over songwriting....i honestly don't think that they're trying to be much more atmospheric than they have been in the past. Even going as far back as Babyteeth or Pleasure Death some of the songs have always had elements of that expansive "darkness"

Romulus
February 6th 2012



8422 Comments


i'll get to this eventually but i wasn't that taken by the single

xist
February 6th 2012



171 Comments


For me, at this point after a couple of spins, the album feels like a cross between Suicide Pact and maybe Crooked Timber or NANE....it does feel like a grower but i don't think that it'll reach a lofty position in my personal T? rankings in the end.

And Marlow is far too early on the tracklist, for what could effectively be passed off as a B-Side.

Plus it does have catchy elements, (eg. Dead Hand, Before You, Turbulence) but whether they'll lock into place as well as some other classics remains to be seen. 3 or 3.5 that's the question! ;)

Firestarter
February 7th 2012



277 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Wow, everyone bombing this one with the ratings...

MartianKyo
February 7th 2012



23 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like Marlow, but yes you are right it's a bit too early on the list, it should've been 5th track it would fit snugly between psychotic buzzing and the catchiest song on the album....Get Your Dead Hand Off My Shoulder

The lyrics might now be the strongest on this album but there is one bit which really stands out it's on Why Turbulence?
Today is the first day of the rest of your life. Tell that to your liver. Tell that to your ex-wife.

It perfectly illustrates what annoys me about that optimistic mantra: "Today is the first day of the rest of your life." There are aftereffects of your mistakes, you can't ignore them.

Anyway the albums 3.5 for me ...right now.

Wolfhorde
February 7th 2012



12800 Comments


Rawk. Album's solid, got some pretty good tracks but also some that were a bit meh, good review though. Actually like this more than Crooked Timber.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2012



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Firestarter:
I'm really surprised too given that it's not really worse than Crooked Timber which has a 4/5.

@xist:
I really think they moved in the new more atmospheric, spacey direction here. It's true that their early work up to Nurse has kind of similar vibe, but still they rely on dub influences here more than at any point of their career. The Buzzing is the only track that reminds me of Suicide Pact-You First. There are certainly some punk elements in some tracks that recall NANE and some guitar work definitely has plenty in common with Crooked Timber, but plenty of tracks sound like nothing they've ever done, e.g. trippy Ecclesiastes.

@MartianKyo:
I actually think the lyrics are one of the greatest assets of the new album. I'm really digging rebellious undertones of Plague Bell aside from Why Turbulence? of course. There's plenty of quotable stuff here and references to writers, philosophers etc. I'm also digging the fact that it's more of a concept album than their previous work.


greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2012



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't think Marlow fits in any place of the album tbh. It's just stylistically and tonally different than the rest. I would definitely replace it with something else if I were them.

@Wolfhorde:
I guess I might prefer it to Crooked Timber too. Time will tell.


maboleth
February 7th 2012



4 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Excluding Merlow would be a serious no-no from me. It's a top song on the album and probably the best instrumental T? have ever done. For me, it fits perfectly with Ecclesiastes, another superb tune.

I've been a T? fan since Opal Mantra, but I have to say that after all these years, I prefer more experimental work than usual boom-clash-bang tunes like Stark Raving Sane (I do love noisy The Buzzing and Plague Bell, the concept works perfectly for me).
Still, this is the strangest T? I have heard in a long time. And that's a great thing.

Today too many bands try to be loud, big and epic, yet rarely anyone achieves that. It's all marketing these days. T? on the other hand never had those kind of ideas in the last 10 years. They release very solid albums without false glamour. I'm pretty laid back when playing their stuff, always knowing that their music is honest, sincere and very interesting with mad drumming.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 7th 2012



7346 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^This. Thanks. I couldn't have put it better. Welcome to the site!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy