Therapy? A Brief Crack of Light
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@JAV:
I should've included: expect Danny Glover-styled vocals. But seriously, I'm used to this kind of singing because I'm familiar with every Therapy? album. I think Andy Cairns has a knack for crafting infectious melodies, which may not be especially evident on this album. I'm glad you enjoy the music though.

@Willie:
I think you may enjoy it given plenty of futuristic/dub influences. It never ventures into full fledged industrial, but still if you're going to enjoy any album of theirs, it's this one.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2012



6366 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Gonna check this out, 'cos I've never heard Therapy?, this is a 2012 release and this seems like a pretty good place to start with this band.

Also, great review and 'gratz on the feature.

Digging: Shackleton - Deliverance Series No. 1

Tarnished
February 6th 2012



364 Comments


bad place to start

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's not one of their most accessible for sure, but every Therapy? album is a good place to start imo (well, except One Cure Fits All).

Tarnished
February 6th 2012



364 Comments


idk man i always though to start where you begin

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



3335 Comments


great review pos'd. that demented look on the singer's face... I need to give this album a listen

Digging: Karma To Burn - Arch Stanton

Tarnished
February 6th 2012



364 Comments


they rock

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks. They're always so bad-ass.

Singing: "Big Black Hooded Perambulator. Birth Was The Death Of Me..."

^Why Turbulence? has my favorite lyrics on the album.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2012



6366 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Listened to the album three times already, and it has some really good standout tracks, but also quite a few duds...
2.5 for now

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The only track I don't really care for is Marlow. The album needs some time to sink in.

Jethro42
February 6th 2012



12377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Excellent write up as usual, Greg. Band rules.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks mate. This record seems to be quite polarizing among Therapy? fans. Have you checked this out yet?

Jethro42
February 6th 2012



12377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not yet, but I shall fix it. I've only heard Plague Bell since you recently considered it as their possible best track. Song was great indeed.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Plague Bell, Get Your Hand Off My Shoulder, Why Turbulence?, The Buzzing and Ghost Trio are amazing. The rest is great too bar Marlow which just doesn't fit in.

Jethro42
February 6th 2012



12377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Enjoying the album atm. Rawks hard so far m/

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 6th 2012



19999 Comments


Great review as usual, Greg. I might check this out.

Jethro42
February 6th 2012



12377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gratz on the feature bud!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks a bunch Jamie. This makes for a truly refreshing listen. These guys have always been more of a noise rock outfit rather than a hard rock one. So, I don't know if you'll enjoy it. Still you should give it a spin.

JAV
February 6th 2012



1921 Comments


@greg
Haha, yea I mean it's not bad just a bit unexpected. I really only noticed it during certain spots. It's not like it's grating or anything.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
February 6th 2012



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I mean it's not bad just a bit unexpected.

^I guess... Good. ;)



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy