Lana Del Rey Born to Die
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DraconForsaken
January 30th 2012



92 Comments


"That's cool that you dig it, but her vocal performance even on 'Video Games' is pretty bad. Just her inflections, and that kind of almost deadpan, sullen chamber pop thing she has going on almost brings me to tears. Almost....."

This. I made the mistake of seeing the lyrics for "Video Games" before ever hearing the song, thought it would be interesting. Wrong. Boring.

Titan50
January 30th 2012



4588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha. No, for more of it to sound like "Video Games". Or something more innovative. Or for it to be some honest, heartfelt singer-songwriter album. Or indie. idk


Actually, as soon as I heard the title track, I expected the rest of the album to follow more in THAT vein than Video Games

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2012



21791 Comments


yeah, I was hoping for a bunch of songs like the title track


Digging: Gesaffelstein - Aleph

conradtao
Emeritus
January 30th 2012



2090 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"yeah, I was hoping for a bunch of songs like the title track"

In that case you should be happy with the final product. It's just too bad that the rest of the album takes the exaggerated Americana of the song and ramps it up to nearly insufferable levels...the more I listen to it, the more grating it becomes.

Also, the TMT review for this is hilarious.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2012



21791 Comments


In that case you should be happy with the final product.

ok I'll rephrase it

yeah, I was hoping for a bunch of songs like and as good as the title track

MaskAtTheMasquerade
January 30th 2012



2887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

her boyfriend looks like a tool lol

mattwise2
January 30th 2012



1 Comments


Great review, very well written. It's hard for me to see how anyone can discuss this artist, and this album, at this point in time without even mentioning the SNL debacle. It is a good record, in parts, but she had a fantastic opportunity that not many "artists" are awarded, and she totally blew it, in magnificent fashion. I just feel like that needs to be given some thought and attention. Thanks.

KangarooSong
January 30th 2012



143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I really think people need to stop with guessing about Lana's authenticity and background and just hear the music. This is a good album from a singer with massive potential, IMO. The range on this girl is kind of amazing for a mainstream singer. She definitely has a gift.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012



31095 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

She may have a great range as a vocalist, but as an artist she seems to have a very limited reach

Digging: Banks - Goddess

AsoTamaki
January 30th 2012



2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

her vocal performance even on 'Video Games' is pretty bad. Just her inflections, and that kind of almost deadpan, sullen chamber pop thing she has going on


I can totally see why people wouldn't be fond of that way of singing, but that's the style. If you go back and listen to some of those "old time" singers, you'll hear them doing the same sort of things with their voice. She's imitating that almost perfectly so you can't really call it a bad performance.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012



31095 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I'd agree that that's what she's trying to emulate, but I definitely disagree with that statement that she's imitating it perfectly

patrickfannon
January 31st 2012



886 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nico did it better, but Lizz--Lana is alright in my book.

Digging: Spoon - They Want My Soul

TheBeardedWhale
February 1st 2012



4 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Beautifully produced pop album

Peripes
February 1st 2012



76 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love this album.

SisterofJuddy
February 1st 2012



4 Comments


Umm, Nick, I know you aren't the brightest guy around, nor have you had a gf, so I don't blame you
when I have to clear this up for you: Video Games isn't a tragic love song. It's just Lana not caring
about him playing a video game and slightly neglecting her cause she's cool like that.


boilingboyy
February 1st 2012



10 Comments


Here's a new article that nails the conversation on her:

http://thoughtcatalog.com/2012/the-real-reason-why-you-cant-stop-talking-about-lana-del-rey/

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
February 1st 2012



50116 Comments


llama del ray

Digging: Tiny Moving Parts - Pleasant Living

ValeriusTheImmortal
February 1st 2012



1237 Comments


lol..perfect one dude

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2012



15732 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

the tinymixtapes review for this is the best

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
February 2nd 2012



15732 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

bestest*



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy