Lana Del Rey Born to Die
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
gabethepiratesquid
January 28th 2012


4521 Comments


What I wonder is why you would keep kerosene next to your computer.

Killerhit
January 28th 2012


5254 Comments


Because you'll always need it in case of an emergency

patrickfannon
January 29th 2012


886 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wonder why you'd kill yourself after you've won. Sort of defeats the point.

patrickfannon
January 29th 2012


886 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh, and this album is not nearly as bad as most are making it out to be. "Born To Die" and "Videogames" are chill as fuck.

DraconForsaken
January 29th 2012


92 Comments


I'm just glad the teens at my work are talking about something other than GaGa.



Titan50
January 29th 2012


4588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, and this album is not nearly as bad as most are making it out to be


idk it seems every major album that gets released by an artist who has built up a lot of internet hype suffers major backlash because the majority of people on these sites have really shit opinions

AsoTamaki
January 29th 2012


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Most aren't really making it out to be bad at all. The overall reception is very positive.

It's just that some people here were apparently deceived into thinking that this was gonna be something other than what it is. This is the kind of music that often gets ignored here. They simply fell victim to the hype.

Kole
January 30th 2012


196 Comments


Black Metal ist Krieg

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 30th 2012


22034 Comments


Yeah I was actually expecting to really like this.
That'll teach me

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012


31493 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

It's just that some people here were apparently deceived into thinking that this was gonna be something other than what it is


What, like good?

Digging: Hyperdub - Hyperdub 10.4

AsoTamaki
January 30th 2012


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Haha. No, for more of it to sound like "Video Games". Or something more innovative. Or for it to be some honest, heartfelt singer-songwriter album. Or indie. idk

This is one of the most consistent pop albums to come out recently, I think.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012


31493 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

I never really understood the hype surrounding 'Video Games' though. I mean, sure, it's definitely some kind of tune, but the kind of timeless 50's kitsch it has is far from being some kind of surprising addition that it possesses. Well at least for me anyway, I found it to be terribly forced

wacknizzle
January 30th 2012


13613 Comments


so lana del rey sucks, the name sounded cool but it's only possible to like as much music as possible for each moment.

Digging: Redwood Hill - Collider

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hey Dev - or Nick for that matter - when I first heard Lana, my initial thought was:

http://www.sputnikmusic.com/review/35469/Gin-Wigmore-Holy-Smoke/


Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012


31493 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Really?? Don't hear the similarities at all

I mean, they both have that kind of smoky thing going on with their voice, but that's really about it

AsoTamaki
January 30th 2012


2525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I just checked out "Oh My" and I don't hear it at all. Maybe in terms of looks? I can sort of see that. Lol.

@Deviant: Yeah, that timelessness is exactly what the appeal is. It certainly is very calculated (or forced, if you want), but the execution is flawless on that track. The rest of the album incorporates some of that same feel, but there is a much clearer sense of modernism in the production and arrangements that to me creates a fresh, unique sound.

She has a good voice, the lyrics range from passable to occasionally great, the melodies are pleasant and on the whole it sounds a bit different from any other artist. That's all I'm really looking for.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012


31493 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

That's cool that you dig it, but her vocal performance even on 'Video Games' is pretty bad. Just her inflections, and that kind of almost deadpan, sullen chamber pop thing she has going on almost brings me to tears. Almost.....

ValeriusTheImmortal
January 30th 2012


1237 Comments


horrible singer imo

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
January 30th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, it's the smoky vocals I was speaking of. I could see Gin perfoming 'Born To Die' that's for sure. Musically, it's definitely different.

AtavanHalen
January 30th 2012


17927 Comments


Gin could eat this botox whore for breakfast



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy