Metallica Load
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
themanimal
February 22nd 2013


7 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really wasn't sure of this album as I am a huge fan of their older stuff (kill em all- black album). I felt like this album was not too bad. My biggest thing is that it was such a HUGE step or change in direction from the black album that the fans werent acclimated to their new style which sucks. I mean, While the black album had some new elements to it, it still stayed fairly true to metallica. This album, not so much. Unfortunately james vocals sound so much different in this album, he sounds like he just yells more than he actually sings like in the good old days. I remember watching an interview where james says that they want to change direction a bit and mix things up but the vocal change was taken straight to the heart. It just doesnt sound like metallica to be honest. While I gave the album of 3, there are some goods and bads. Momma said was a pretty good song, and their are a few others but thats about it. If you like metallica, I would strongly recommend going to the old stuff before listening to this album because the old stuff is 10 times better!

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2013


8021 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I will defend this album until my dying day

Cipieron
February 22nd 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you and me curse

Titan
February 22nd 2013


5882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

no need to defend it, it stands on its own

ViperAces
February 23rd 2013


12504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Bleeding Me and The Outlaw Torn are the only songs I really enjoy now, and Thorn Within is nice too.

DirtBagDan
February 23rd 2013


582 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

some decent songs on here

NeoSpaz
February 23rd 2013


4519 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It has its moments

Fozzie
March 30th 2013


352 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

So many things wrong with this album and with this era of Metallica. The Metallica fanboys will go to their graves saying they didn't sell out.

The fact is Metallica did sellout. They didn't just cut their hair. Lars and Kirk went gay mode. Kirk went with the painted nails and lipstick, Lars went with the pierced tits and ears. Look at the inlay, cover, and photos of the Load era. Excluding Jason, these guys became big douchebags during this era.

This album is a mix of blusey rock and grunge. Then you have the laughable country tune Mama Said and southern rock track Ronnie.

The lyrics are a huge step down from the past Metallica. Look at the title track 'Ain't my Bitch' for a good example...

All of Kirk's solos on this album are forgettable. This guy hasn't been able to play his guitar since 1995 and write a decent solo since 1991.

Hetfield's voice is shot. This is the beginning of the yodeling and the beginning of the end. This is the first album to be tuned down half a step.

Lars drumming is average. Never was a great drummer but he had his moments. Starting in 1994 the kit started to shrink and the drumming got more bland.

I can't say anything positive or negative about Jason on this album. They ignored his suggestions and input. He could have saved this band.

Metallica has said they want to grow and try new things. They are proud of all their releases, but then why don't they play anything from the Load/Reload era besides Fuel? Because it all sucks and the fans want metal. Fuel is crap song by the way, Hetfield is just obsessed with it.

Top songs:
Ain't My Bitch
2X4
King Nothing
Bleeding Me
Wasting My Hate

You want blusey rock? Go listen to any ZZ Top which shits on this album.

Cipieron
March 31st 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i liked metallica before and after they sold out, so who cares

demigod!
March 31st 2013


45266 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

would rather just not listen to either haha

Digging: Black Sabbath - Master of Reality

manosg
March 31st 2013


6732 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is slightly better than Reload imo. It could and should have been shorter.

Digging: Whitesnake - Slide It In

bach
March 31st 2013


13151 Comments


Quite a load indeed.

Digging: Mirroring - Foreign Body

Sheaiskl
March 31st 2013


836 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

King Nothing, Until It Sleeps and Bleeding Me are good songs. Very boring album though

DominionMM1
March 31st 2013


10322 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is waaaaayyyyyy better than reload. bleeding me, outlaw torn, and until it sleeps rule.

Digging: Dr. John - Gris-Gris

Geadom
March 31st 2013


2839 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5



King Nothing, and Until It Sleeps are good songs. Very boring album though


Corrected.


ViperAces
April 1st 2013


12504 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

king nothing is awful, probably the worst metallica song


Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
April 1st 2013


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nope that would be purify

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

NeoSpaz
April 1st 2013


4519 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

nah that would be invisible kid
lol

feargm
June 11th 2013


343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Mama Said and Bleeding Me are great songs.

Digging: Neurosis - Through Silver in Blood

manosg
June 11th 2013


6732 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Bleeding me is one of the stand outs on this one.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy