Metallica Load
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
February 19th 2013


20863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

5 years after their mainstream breakthrough, Metallica return with short hair-cuts & their Bob Rock produced 6th LP 'Load'. Containing a sound that is more akin to bluesy hard-rock than any variation of metal, this front-loaded album is accomplished, but will undoubtedly shock long-time fans. It's main flaw is its over-length (14 tracks at 79 minutes), which lacks a sufficient number of genuine highlights, and cannot help but produce filler & a perceived lack of variety. An intriguing listen full of mixed results, 'Load' would have ultimately been better off as an experimental EP. Recommended Tracks: King Nothing, Ain't My Bitch & The House Jack Built.

Cipieron
February 19th 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ or if they'd combined load and reload, dropped the filler, and just cherry picked the best songs from each for one LP

BigHans
February 19th 2013


26512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If they did that ReLoad would have had 2, maybe 3 contributions

Digging: Restorations - LP3

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2013


22037 Comments


^This. Reload sucks for the most part, this is actually a pretty good hard rock album.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2013


22037 Comments


Thought I had this rated higher than a 3.

demigod!
February 19th 2013


45508 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah this ones got a couple decent jams

Digging: The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds

BigHans
February 19th 2013


26512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

First 7 tracks of this kill

Titan
February 19th 2013


7093 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this^

and outlaw

BigHans
February 19th 2013


26512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah. Everything in between Bleeding Me and Outlaw Torn sucks hard, but is still better than just about everything on Reload except Prince Charming

Inveigh
February 19th 2013


25353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah the first 7 and outlaw rule

also the solo from the cure is cool, but the rest of that song (and also tracks 9-13) suck dong

Digging: Desolate Shrine - The Heart of the Netherworld

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2013


22037 Comments


Reload is almost as bad as St. Anger imo.

BigHans
February 19th 2013


26512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

MAMA LET YOUR SON GROWWWWWWWWW

Inveigh
February 19th 2013


25353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Reload is almost as bad as St. Anger imo.


no way, ReLoad at least has Unforgiven II, Fixxxer, Prince Charming and Memory Remains, all of which
are better than anything on St. Anger

BigHans
February 19th 2013


26512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Prinice Charming rules I will say that.

Blake you me and Pit are all on Sputnik at the same time, when is the last time that happened?

evilford
February 19th 2013


23033 Comments


holy sht bighans sighting!!!!

Inveigh
February 19th 2013


25353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

it has been a long long time my friend


this is a magical moment

BigHans
February 19th 2013


26512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I should review MOP one of these days that would be an event.

Inveigh
February 19th 2013


25353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

dude i can't believe you never reviewed much metallica back in the day. MOP is a must -- we could even try to lure our lil bros out of retirement (maniac and feit)

XingKing
February 19th 2013


11090 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It really could use a few more

BigHans
February 19th 2013


26512 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I did do Black album and ReLoad, but yeah, MOP deserves it



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy