The Weeknd Echoes of Silence
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
kingsoby1
Emeritus
December 30th 2011


4957 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

yeah every single record so far

omnipanzer
December 30th 2011


21660 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening now but it won't be a 5... guaranteed. Good probably but no 5. You should rethink that rating IMO. ;^)

I like this version of Dirty Diana.

omnipanzer
December 30th 2011


21660 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"volume is turned up too loud and gets distorted"

^I get this.

kingsoby1
Emeritus
December 30th 2011


4957 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it's an intentional topping out of a level in the recording process. the distortion is intentional

Romulus
December 30th 2011


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the sputnikreaction to 5s is a little silly sometimes. like people get all up in arms over someone 5ing a new release. just imagine it as a 4.5 with a cherry on top idk

DBlitz
December 30th 2011


1691 Comments


first 5 tracks are great and play out great in the order they are in

same old song is cool for about the first minute or so, can't get into the rest of the song. don't dig the fall very much at all. next is pretty decent. title track is ok i guess.

i prefer thursday overall.

DBlitz
December 30th 2011


1691 Comments


oh and, serious question. is the production here genuinely comparable to the ones in my dark twisted fantasy?

Romulus
December 30th 2011


8447 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

see i dig this review because it doesn't get into that whole 'tesfaye's psyche' kind of deal. like all these people wrote reviews of house of balloons and thursday saying stuff like 'tesfaye is a hedonistic jaguar preying on ladies but he does not actually enjoy being a hedonistic jaguar and that is evident in his tortured falsetto'

like you're making him sound like a creep i'm sure he's actually a pretty decent guy

kingsoby1
Emeritus
December 30th 2011


4957 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

lol hedonistic jaguar. That's exactly what i was aiming for; I for one dont even care about the lyrics.

dblitz - yeah it's comparable in that it takes a lot from indie and electronic genres, but this is more on the slower/ more atmospheric end of the spectrum. i also prefer thursday, but only because i really like it's poppy/ trip-hop style. i think they're all classics though

BigHans
December 30th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This guy must get laid so fucking often

DBlitz
December 30th 2011


1691 Comments


yea i love the mood and atmosphere in thursday.

and i dig most of the beats throughout the three mixtapes (abel doesn't do them, does he?), but i was just asking because a lot of people made (hyperbolic?) claims about how kanye's beats are revolutionary or something idk. jw if this is supposed to be in the same league. don't know enough about the genre(s) to comment.

DBlitz
December 30th 2011


1691 Comments


'tesfaye is a hedonistic jaguar preying on ladies but he does not actually enjoy being a hedonistic jaguar and that is evident in his tortured falsetto'

this is awesome

omnipanzer
December 30th 2011


21660 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Probably some of the best stuff to come out of this genre in a long time for me.

omnipanzer
December 30th 2011


21660 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"it's an intentional topping out of a level in the recording process. the distortion is intentional"

I understand that I was just saying I understood where he was coming from with his statement.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
December 30th 2011


15743 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

that thing greg84 said on the last page yeah that

paxman
December 30th 2011


4084 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I have to agree with Gabethepiratesquid here. The
review is rather clumsy overall, although it improves
after the first paragraph

kingsoby1
Emeritus
December 30th 2011


4957 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

sorry paxman, i'll go back to reviewer school :[

Dblitz - kanye's beats on mbdtf are great, definitely different from most soul-sampled 90s knockoff stuff around today

omnipanzer
December 30th 2011


21660 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

reviewer school or GTFO!

jayfatha
December 30th 2011


2882 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I guess it's time I listen to this and Thursday

gabethepiratesquid
December 30th 2011


4521 Comments


also, if you thought this year was weak in terms of hip-hop, you either haven't been paying ANY attention whatsoever to the hip-hop world or you just have really weird, selective taste. 2011 has been the FUCKING YEAR OF HIP-HOP WHEN IT'S THRIVED MORE THAN EVER.

o and this still isn't hip-hop. There are some minor hip-hop influenced moments but no.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy