Opeth Heritage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2014



20018 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed, they really shine on this album, especially Axenrot. You can tell they're really comfortable playing this style.

ButteryBiscuitBass
January 7th 2014



9765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For sure. I do love Lopez though, some of his work on GR and Deliverance blew my balls.

musicalmedicine
January 7th 2014



480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I like Lopez better than Axenrot, and I'm a drummer myself. Lopez has the jazz feel, the blues feel and he's one of the best metal drummers of all time. But Axenrot has a better sensibility on the skins, his work on Heritage is flawless.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 7th 2014



20018 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Axenrot's drumming on here is just a jazz-influenced as anything Lopez has done, if not more so. I personally prefer Axenrot's performance on here to anything Lopez has done, by quite a distance actually.

MeatSalad
January 7th 2014



14195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed jt. Axe's drumming is much more interesting and varied than what lopez did for the group.

Digging: Love - Forever Changes

musicalmedicine
January 8th 2014



480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yes, I completely agree! His jazz-influenced drumming is better than Lopez', for sure! But Lopez has a different notion of groove to his playing, his metal playing is completely otherworldly. Axenrot is pretty good playing Metal as well, though. It's hard, actually.

Vakarian12
January 12th 2014



3640 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

http://www.roadrunnerrecords.com/news/opeth-mikael-20140106?utm_medium=email&utm_content=sales%40ed-stone.com&utm_campaign=January-11-2014_Digest+1.10.14&utm_source=Digest+1.10.14

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2014



4383 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"It's a jam I came up with during the MASTODON/GHOST tour, [...] But basically it's a not-so-subtle headbanging-type nod in GOBLIN's direction. And to avoid confusion, the song is even called 'Goblin'. My rip-off deteriorates mid-song and becomes fusion-esque darkened prog rock like MAHAVISHNU or ELP (yikes!). But it swings! It really does."

"Maybe a little bit heavier (than Heritage). Not death metal heavy, but hard rock/heavy metal heavy. There's also lots of progressive elements and acoustic guitars, but also more sinister-sounding riffs."

"recording the STORM CORROSION LP with Steven Wilson made me realize what a massive difference it can mean to incorporate the real shit."

"There's a lot going on, lots of string arrangements that we haven't had in the past."

I'm kind of excited. Sounds like it's going to be a more expansive Heritage. I hope that "interest in strings" means we'll hear some folk tracks that sound like a Comus/Storm Corrosion blend. Although I wouldn't mind hearing a "Pyre" part 2. It seems like the heavier stuff is going to be along the lines of "Devil's Orchard" or "Derelict Herds"/"Porcelain Heart" (minus growls), which still sounds cool. I'm hoping we get more mellow tracks like "Haxprocess" though, that was like the best song of Heritage.


musicalmedicine
January 12th 2014



480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

God, I have to agree 100% with Mr. Herman Campbell.

Egarran
January 15th 2014



253 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Sgt. It will be exciting to hear the next Opeth.

Especially the sinister-sounding riffs.

BigPleb
January 15th 2014



34211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sgt knows.

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion

CaptainDooRight
January 15th 2014



28355 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

3.5 at best

Digging: Tukaaria - Raw to the Rapine

Emyay
January 15th 2014



5804 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah i just can't get into this no matter how hard i try

BigPleb
January 15th 2014



34211 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But you dig TMV, damn you will never learn how to prog.

Vakarian12
January 15th 2014



3640 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nice dig leb

Emyay
January 15th 2014



5804 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i only dig deloused and frances but yeah i don't know if i will ever learn. i've tried some older stuff but its been hit or miss. i haven't really listened to anything and been super impressed. mirage is pretty awesome and obviously pink floyd but i haven't really been loving yes, king crimson, or genesis that much yet

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2014



20018 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Try some Tull.

CaptainDooRight
January 15th 2014



28355 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

or some Steve Hillage

Emyay
January 15th 2014



5804 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i remember liking my dad's jethro tull greatest hits cd when i was a kid. i'll check out some albums, haven't really done that yet. don't know who steve hillage is

conesmoke
January 15th 2014



5179 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

srsly kewl albm... srz -____-



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy