Opeth Heritage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Vakarian12
January 12th 2014


4031 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

http://www.roadrunnerrecords.com/news/opeth-mikael-20140106?utm_medium=email&utm_content=sales%40ed-stone.com&utm_campaign=January-11-2014_Digest+1.10.14&utm_source=Digest+1.10.14

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
January 12th 2014


4474 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"It's a jam I came up with during the MASTODON/GHOST tour, [...] But basically it's a not-so-subtle headbanging-type nod in GOBLIN's direction. And to avoid confusion, the song is even called 'Goblin'. My rip-off deteriorates mid-song and becomes fusion-esque darkened prog rock like MAHAVISHNU or ELP (yikes!). But it swings! It really does."



"Maybe a little bit heavier (than Heritage). Not death metal heavy, but hard rock/heavy metal heavy. There's also lots of progressive elements and acoustic guitars, but also more sinister-sounding riffs."



"recording the STORM CORROSION LP with Steven Wilson made me realize what a massive difference it can mean to incorporate the real shit."



"There's a lot going on, lots of string arrangements that we haven't had in the past."



I'm kind of excited. Sounds like it's going to be a more expansive Heritage. I hope that "interest in strings" means we'll hear some folk tracks that sound like a Comus/Storm Corrosion blend. Although I wouldn't mind hearing a "Pyre" part 2. It seems like the heavier stuff is going to be along the lines of "Devil's Orchard" or "Derelict Herds"/"Porcelain Heart" (minus growls), which still sounds cool. I'm hoping we get more mellow tracks like "Haxprocess" though, that was like the best song of Heritage.



musicalmedicine
January 12th 2014


480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

God, I have to agree 100% with Mr. Herman Campbell.

Egarran
January 15th 2014


902 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Sgt. It will be exciting to hear the next Opeth.



Especially the sinister-sounding riffs.

BigPleb
January 15th 2014


42226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sgt knows.

Emyay
January 15th 2014


6156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

yeah i just can't get into this no matter how hard i try

BigPleb
January 15th 2014


42226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

But you dig TMV, damn you will never learn how to prog.

Vakarian12
January 15th 2014


4031 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

nice dig leb

Emyay
January 15th 2014


6156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i only dig deloused and frances but yeah i don't know if i will ever learn. i've tried some older stuff but its been hit or miss. i haven't really listened to anything and been super impressed. mirage is pretty awesome and obviously pink floyd but i haven't really been loving yes, king crimson, or genesis that much yet

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2014


23662 Comments


Try some Tull.

Emyay
January 15th 2014


6156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i remember liking my dad's jethro tull greatest hits cd when i was a kid. i'll check out some albums, haven't really done that yet. don't know who steve hillage is

conesmoke
January 15th 2014


5376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

srsly kewl albm... srz -____-

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2014


23662 Comments


Hillage rules but you should check out Tull first seeing as they're more essential (and the best band ever). I'd recommend either Aqualung or Minstrel in the Gallery as a starting point.

Emyay
January 15th 2014


6156 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i'll check out both eventually but will probably start with aqualung since that song rules

conesmoke
January 15th 2014


5376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'my god' and 'up to me' rule too breh.

conesmoke
January 15th 2014


5376 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

brehwl [7]

Keyblade
February 4th 2014


16708 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Adore this album

Digging: Perfume - Relax in the City / Pick Me Up

BigPleb
February 4th 2014


42226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Need a new song

Keyblade
February 4th 2014


16708 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can just feel the new one will rule too

KILL
February 4th 2014


74378 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sucks this kinda grew off me



will always defend it against the anti prog staffers tho ,//m/ have they even erd



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy