Opeth Heritage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
December 10th 2013


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you dudes fans of aeon spoke at all? its obv their music has been going in that direction since traced so jam them to get an idea of the next record

Digging: Throwing Muses - Throwing Muses

demigod!
December 10th 2013


45266 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it was arty prog pop it was sweet

Digging: Black Sabbath - Master of Reality

KILL
December 10th 2013


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yea its cute, but obv i hope for longer more space rock pieces

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2013


15219 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Just to clarify, I did like the track but Cynic can do so much better.

Digging: Blaspherian - Upon The Throne of Eternal Blasphemous Death

demigod!
December 10th 2013


45266 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

well assuming that its the lead single or whatever from the album im sure other tracks will be more spacey and experimental

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2013


15219 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah that's what I'm banking on, godspeed Cynic p/p/p/p/

KILL
December 10th 2013


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

even if it sucks its aoty

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2013


21610 Comments


lol

Digging: Foxes in Fiction - Ontario Gothic

Emyay
December 10th 2013


6010 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

wasn't feeling that new cynic too much. still have hopes for the album though

BloodSweatandBeers
December 10th 2013


1014 Comments


will be a 1.5 agrd

musicalmedicine
December 10th 2013


480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I absolutely love Opeth, but I find their heavier albums to be a little monotonous, due to the fact that they use the same formula over and over again in every track, although it is an awesome formula.
That being said, I simply don't understand the hatred towards this album. Opeth really delivered what they said they would on this, it's a high 4.5 for me and perhaps I'll 5 it one day. 2nd Opeth on my rankings, next to Damnation. Marvellous album.

MeatSalad
December 10th 2013


15073 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds like you just don't know how to metal

Digging: Hey Rosetta! - Into Your Lungs (And Around in Your Heart and on

Motiv3
December 10th 2013


8945 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

never been huge on Cynic. Didn't particularly dig the new song of theirs either.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2013


21610 Comments


I absolutely love Opeth, but I find their heavier albums to be a little monotonous, due to the fact that they use the same formula over and over again in every track, although it is an awesome formula.


I can understand that to an extent. Their sound/formula evolved over their first 3 albums and then they sort of stuck with that formula for the most part (with the exception of this and Damnation of course). Although I personally find Damnation more monotonous than most of their heavier albums so idk.

Underflow
December 10th 2013


2675 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Yeah just spin Still Life on repeat for 24 hours and you'll get it.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2013


21610 Comments


Still Life is one of the worst in the sense that it sticks to the same formula. It's like MAYH 2.0 but slightly more drawn out and nowhere near as good (in my personal opinion of course).

Emyay
December 10th 2013


6010 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

its like mayh with better riffs agreed

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2013


21610 Comments


MAYH has better riffs yeah.

KILL
December 10th 2013


72280 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

plz dont argue omg xx

Underflow
December 10th 2013


2675 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Still Life is like MAYH except with production that isn't abominable, meaner riffs, better atmosphere,
better songwriting, more ambitioun, etc.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy