Drake Take Care
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 17th 2013


22034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I misspell "weekend" "weeknd" all the time now, in essays and such

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

oltnabrick
April 17th 2013


31302 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pleb move

Digging: Lil Debbie - Young Bitch

illmitch
April 17th 2013


5429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

one time in a latin essay in high school i spelled cut as cunt

sniper
April 17th 2013


19080 Comments


droppin that e

lol mitch

plane
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2013


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

they weren't completely radio ready though, that's the point. all the atmosphere and flow was sucked out of the remasters, and the vocals, whereas they kinda floated through the production before and had this great syrupy drunk vibe, were brought right to the forefront.

hmm yeah okay, i can understand that. that's what sobhi and adam are always arguing in favor of as well. i guess i just did not care for that approach and was itching for that extra glossy kick and for abel to control the tracks rather than fade into them. i didn't really start raving about the weeknd until i got the trilogy package and was like "yes! this!" that makes me a shitty weeknd fan 8(

it should also be noted that i've never listened to the albums on headphones. exclusively driving music so that extra gloss really came through on the subwoofer. (house of balloons y'all)

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 17th 2013


22034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5


one time in a latin essay in high school i spelled cut as cunt

please tell me you didn't realise before you handed it in

illmitch
April 17th 2013


5429 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

def didnt realize it i got it back with a circle around the word and a question mark

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 17th 2013


22034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

hmm yeah okay, i can understand that. that's what sobhi and adam are always arguing in favor of as well. i guess i just did not care for that approach and was itching for that extra glossy kick and for abel to control the tracks rather than fade into them. i didn't really start raving about the weeknd until i got the trilogy package and was like "yes! this!" that makes me a shitty weeknd fan 8(

the mixtapes are kinda glossy though. I love the vibe, they're well produced and shiny but have this slight grain and grit to them. Makes me feel like I'm in a club or lush house party but you can smell tobacco in the air

oltnabrick
April 17th 2013


31302 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I misspelled "discrimination" for "decimation"...




It was an essay about the segregation of whites and blacks so ye that was bad

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 17th 2013


22034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

unless you were in support I doubt it's too bad to be against "the decimation of the black race"

oltnabrick
April 17th 2013


31302 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I used it in a weird way



I forget the sentence but the professor was mad at me lol

plane
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2013


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

the mixtapes are kinda glossy though. I love the vibe, they're well produced and shiny but have this slight grain and grit to them. Makes me feel like I'm in a club or lush house party but you can smell tobacco in the air

Yeah just being hyperbolic. Might be favoring the remaster because of its implications towards Weeknd's mass appeal, which I am all for. If it took a couple engineers retooling "Wicked Games" to get it on the air (and to me it still sounds real good!) then fuck yeah. I paid for that shit, get it Abel.

sniper
April 17th 2013


19080 Comments


i really felt like the mixtapes created this awesome world that i could really get lost in. there was a softer, layered aesthetic that made it so much more conducive to the druggy daydream vibe. trilogy didn't completely do away with this but bringing the vocals out more really prevents the sound from enveloping me the same way. i still think it is obv incredible in terms of narrative, vocals, and production in rnb but i think it loses part of what put him at the cutting edge in the first place.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 17th 2013


22034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, I could just sink into it, but now it feels all chopped up and shallow

plane
Staff Reviewer
April 17th 2013


6099 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Can definitely see that and will concede. Good argument, fellas.

sniper
April 17th 2013


19080 Comments


i am glad he blew up though

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
April 17th 2013


22034 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

he blew up and still none of my friends like him

sniper
April 17th 2013


19080 Comments


i jocked house of balloons so hard when it came out. def have hella friends who like him. idk how you could hear a track like party & the afterparty and not dig

mindleviticus
April 17th 2013


8326 Comments


Not very good

sniper
April 17th 2013


19080 Comments


ligeti is def better.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy