Explosions in the Sky Take Care, Take Care, Take Care
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Xenophanes
Emeritus
December 9th 2011


10621 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

one of the most dull post rock bands out there

Lumyth
December 9th 2011


54 Comments


post rock? wtf........

fuckthatnoise
December 9th 2011


1479 Comments


lol Dead Place isn't even their best.

they trumped that album with All of a Sudden.

InAbsentia
December 9th 2011


3542 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"post rock? wtf........"

What?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2011


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They even called it Take Care three times.

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

Lumyth
December 9th 2011


54 Comments


"What?"

idk, is it like post-traumatic stress disorder?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
December 9th 2011


7318 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And on a more review-related note, can I say that I seem to have a problem with the entire genre of post-rock as a whole? It's not just EitS that seem to do the same thing over and over again - i.e build-build-release, quiet-quiet-loud, shimmer-shimmer-piano riff, pretentious-and-meaningless-as-fuck song titles - but the rest of the genre seems to repeatedly fall back on those cliches as well.

InAbsentia
December 9th 2011


3542 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Post rock is the soundtrack to the end of the world.



InAbsentia
December 9th 2011


3542 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Here's more info on the genre:

http://www.postrockxchange.com/what-is-post-rock/

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
December 9th 2011


6506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What's with all the hate for this band on here?
They rule

jefflebowski
December 9th 2011


8257 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

in a formulaic kinda way

patrickfannon
December 9th 2011


886 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"What really stands out, though, is how happy this album is."

I couldn't agree more. You guys are all grumpy with this hate; this is one of my favorite records of the year, by far. I saw them at Radio City Music Hall in April and the show was fucking unreal. I guess good herb helps. Great review, Nick. Spot on, though, obviously, I think it deserves a higher rating. (No pun intended.)

Imploder
December 9th 2011


187 Comments


nah this is pretty lame. they've been less and less impressive since the earth is not...

thebhoy
Emeritus
December 9th 2011


4461 Comments


This Will Explode In Your Godspeed, Ros.

InAbsentia
December 9th 2011


3542 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

haha

ADemonicSloth
December 9th 2011


43 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Good review, I've been listening to this a bit more lately and might up my rating, I like it's positivity which you highlighted.
I see Post Rock as a very limited genre, but I dont see this as a negative. Every genre has it's cliches, Post Rock is perhaps more exposed to this because it's very characteristic is formless, it started as something that was meant to do away with the samey rock/pop structures, so in turn it's become samey in itself, there's only so much a 'rock' band can do without the verse/chorus formula.
From this perspective I can see why EitS are not as popular on here as Godspeed or Yndi Halda, who both use classical instruments added to the original rock based set up, arguably it makes for more varied music.


minty901
December 9th 2011


2080 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm so much of an EitS fanboy that I feel my judgement is often clouded. I give a new EitS album a lot more of a chance than any other post-rock band, so it's hard for me to give an unbiased opinion. I think it's a very good album, mainly for the quality of production, though the guitar melodies are very repetitive, one-dimensional and uninventive compared to their previous works (The Earth Is Not... in particular). The quiet, bassy moment in Human Qualities takes my breath away though.

Oh and this review read a lot more like a 4.0-4.5 to me.

demigod!
December 9th 2011


45005 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

painfully average post-rock. shame since their last album was so good.

Digging: Autechre - LP5

Releler
December 10th 2011


4 Comments


Let me adjust your first line: "There are a lot of people out there who've decided that for Explosions in the Sky to keep doing what they've gotten steadily worse at isn't enough.*" I think that explains your befuddlement at other critics' responses.

*I changed the semicolon to a period just for convenience, but the semicolon does happen to be really unnecessary. With it, your first sentence also occupies more than half the space of the paragraph.

Activista anti-MTV
December 10th 2011


3148 Comments


Excited for this. Nice review as always



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy