Gallows Death Is Birth
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Following the loss of distinctive front-man Frank Carter, English hardcore punk quintet Gallows look to begin stage 2 of their career with 4 track EP 'Death Is Birth'. Former Alexisonfire guitarist/vocalist Wade MacNeil takes the reins & the Canadian acquits himself rather well, even if his delivery is more orthodox than his predecessor's. Short, aggressive & up-tempo, the 8 minute duration is not enough to allow fans to get used to the major change, yet there is enough here - musically, vocally & to a lesser extent lyrically - to suggest that this incarnation of Gallows definitely has a future. Recommended Tracks: Death Is Birth & Mondo Chaos.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2011


21967 Comments


this sounds only marginally better than before

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2011


7343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"The opener & closer are pretty darn good"

I'd say that the opener is easily the worst song here tbh. The title track does indeed rule, though.

Adabelle
December 26th 2011


4257 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"this sounds only marginally better than before"

Please don't say you're saying this is better than Grey Britain and Orchestra of Wolves; England will disown you.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ali, while it's cliched & all, I think I found the opener the most accessible in a way... And for someone that isn't really a hardcore nut, I think that's important.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2011


7343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I'd agree it's the most accessible here, I just think it's fairly uninspried compared to the rest.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
December 26th 2011


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can't argue with that. Then again, with such short tracks, you don't have to wait long until the next one starts.

Blaizend
December 26th 2011


647 Comments


Nice Travels rip-off cover.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
December 26th 2011


21967 Comments


@Adabelle
I mean the EP has only slightly grown on me. I have Grey Britain as a 5

sspedding
January 11th 2012


4765 Comments


i hate this band

HappyArseDay
February 23rd 2012


47 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nice review man, good to see not everybody is just rating this a 2 and cry-wanking to Grey Britain.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2012


21967 Comments


There are reasons I'm cry wanking to Grey Britan.

WhiteTieBlackJacket
June 23rd 2012


792 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Such a damn shame...

Owantjaaaa
June 23rd 2012


3271 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

LIKE THE FOURTH OF JULY

Digging: Look What I Did - Atlas Drugged

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
June 23rd 2012


21967 Comments


Not sure what to expect of their upcoming album

Adabelle
June 26th 2012


4257 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

New track was better than I thought it would be (free download at their website if anyone's interested)

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
June 26th 2012


21967 Comments


I'm on it. Couldn't be bothered to listen out for it on the radio last night

cryMore
June 26th 2012


469 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Gallows are dead

Owantjaaaa
June 26th 2012


3271 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I'm going to listen to Last June right now

Owantjaaaa
June 26th 2012


3271 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

hm it's way better than this EP, but still has nothing on anything with frank.
btw; is this really the album cover..?
http://www.somekindofawesome.com/storage/gallowsselftitled600.jpeg?__SQUARESPACE_CACHEVERSION=1340702987199




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy