Kate Bush 50 Words for Snow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
tmage
March 5th 2012


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"she hasn't exactly gone post-rock, but this album shares with Spirit of Eden and Laughing Stock a subtle maverick spirit"

From The Dreaming (the first album she recorded in her private studio on HER schedule) and on subsequent albums she has been willing (if not enthusiastically eager) to tinker, to mess with the formula and do things that go against convention; usually the result is unexpected and inspired genius (Hounds of Love). Sometimes they don't work (in fact that happens once on every other album she's produced) but even her failiures are fascinating in their audacity (Stephen Fry making up nonsense words for 8 minutes is silly, but it's a brilliant sort of daftness and you have to admire her confidence and total lack of fear of failure when those moments happen).

Another risk she took was bringing in one of the few musicians whose talents could potentially upstage her - not Elton John but Steve Gadd, one of a very small number of drummer who could legitimately claim to be the best in the world (which is why I'm singling him out - even though had some notable guests on her albums (Prince, Clapton, Gilmour et al), she's never worked with someone of his skill and reputation. Fortunately Doctor Gadd has been a sideman and his restrained, gentle percussion provides the perfect accent to the music (Misty for example).

The few missteps she made don't drag the album down too much for me and it's a solid 4/5

Ire
March 5th 2012


41820 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

From The Dreaming (the first album she recorded in her private studio on HER schedule)


The Dreaming was recorded at Abbey Road.

Another risk she took was bringing in one of the few musicians whose talents could potentially upstage her - not Elton John but Steve Gadd, one of a very small number of drummer who could legitimately claim to be the best in the world (which is why I'm singling him out - even though had some notable guests on her albums (Prince, Clapton, Gilmour et al), she's never worked with someone of his skill and reputation.


She's worked with so many veteran folk and jazz musicians though. Take a look at Eberhard Weber for example

tmage
March 5th 2012


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're correct about the studio (she built it for Hounds because of her experiences making The Dreaming) but I still disagree about Steve Gadd - he's not merely a talented drummer. Other drummers recognize him as one of a small group of musicians who have mastered the instrument, who are, simply put, the top drummers in the world.

I honestly cannot think of another musician that she's worked with who has that kind of reputatio -Eberhard Weber is a fantastic bassist but I don't see him in that conversation as long as Ron Carter and Stanley Clarke are still playing (not to mention Marcus Miller, Charlie Hayden, Dave Holland etc.)

KILL
March 5th 2012


72086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Indeed, indeed.

Digging: Steve Hackett - Out of the Tunnel's Mouth

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2012


23965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hmmm, quite

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

KILL
March 5th 2012


72086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

indubitably

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2012


23965 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree, quite shallow and pedantic

Ire
March 30th 2012


41820 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hey babe nice rating

Jash
March 30th 2012


4244 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ramy will you just fuck her already and get it over with???

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
March 30th 2012


50857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that would be cool

Digging: Bobby Barnett - Little Wounds

KILL
March 30th 2012


72086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i wish this was as gd as aerial

Ire
March 30th 2012


41820 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

kate is life

KILL
March 30th 2012


72086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

death is life p well known fact

Ire
March 30th 2012


41820 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is so cold.

KILL
March 30th 2012


72086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

almost wintersun level

Ire
March 30th 2012


41820 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

indeed chap

I think I'm more satisfied with this than Aerial. The production and the performances just work so well on this.

KILL
March 30th 2012


72086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

no nocturn on this album though

Ire
March 30th 2012


41820 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Misty tho

fraderic
March 30th 2012


114 Comments


ire is pretty cool

KILL
March 30th 2012


72086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

whos got ur belly



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy