Erra Impulse
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ikarus
November 30th 2011



562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The guitars in this are just fucking amazing.

Shredzilla
November 30th 2011



501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Lawl at the argument over clean singing.

Personally, I think the vocals are amazing. Still, I can understand why some would think they aren't. However, being a guitarist who also sings, it definitely does get hard to try to sing in almost every song and do something completely different. That's why I think these guys should scale the singing back JUST a tad. Possibly save it for songs where it will really stand out. There is no doubt that, no matter how good Jesse is, his patterns will just continue get more stale and familiar.....unless he comes off guitar and just does vocals a la We Came As Romans, which I KNOW we can all agree that we don't want that to happen.

witchxrapist
November 30th 2011



11020 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

They'd be way cooler if they didn't force the singing in, definitely.

This band has potential, but they're obviously striving for a specific sound rather than trying to improve.

Winsomniac
November 30th 2011



7968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Trying to improve...how exactly? I dunno. Architect is a fucking SICK song.

loveisamixtape
November 30th 2011



5952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pattern interrupt and heart take the cake for me

Winsomniac
November 30th 2011



7968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I dunno. I really enjoy how they did this album, but I'm pretty well aware that it's not terribly original in it's style. That shouldn't take away from their talent and songwriting skills though. If it's not for you, it's not for you (Mappy).

If you want heavy with no cleans, see how you feel about the new Walking With Strangers LP.

sspedding
November 30th 2011



4754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pattern interrupt and heart take the cake for me

[2]

sspedding
November 30th 2011



4754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

reviews great btw pos

Winsomniac
November 30th 2011



7968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Thanks, sped! It was a bit rushed and I definitely wrote it at like 5 A.M. so I didn't know if it'd be too terribly well received, hah.

sspedding
November 30th 2011



4754 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thats how i wrote mine and i would go through it and improve it as i went along. I think this is good enough.

ikarus
November 30th 2011



562 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i find the harsh vocals get a little stale after a few minutes, the clean breaks are nice but they do seem to take over some of the songs.

maybe they just need more vocal-less interludes...

Winsomniac
November 30th 2011



7968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The vocalist seems to have a pretty good screaming range. He really doesn't use it much, though. I dunno, I'm a sucker for low growls.

Obscure Words has some nice harsh vocals imo. And DAT PIANO.

loveisamixtape
November 30th 2011



5952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

obscure words is like one of their least favorite songs, haha. they say it reminds them too much of their old band


adam's guest vocals in that song are awesome though

Winsomniac
November 30th 2011



7968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Seven is pretty fucking sick too. Love the lore behind it.




CHILDREN OF ANU!!!!!

HeroZero
November 30th 2011



21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm just confused as to how you would call them unoriginal. Why? because they sing? The guitar work in this is stupendous, the harsh vocalist has good range. It's fast paced and the vocal delivery in both aspects of harsh and clean are good in which they both cover alot of ground fairly quickly, there is alot to be said lyrically in almost every song as opposed to "heart" which isnt even a bad thing considering their most "unoriginal song" would haveto be heart, and It's my top 3 of the album. Technical-ethereal-catchy. that's ERRA

Winsomniac
November 30th 2011



7968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Hero, my point is that their general sound borrows heavily from heavy bands. Like I said, their talent and songwriting ability is immense. But I would have liked to see a bit more digression. I always try to be a little more critical in my reviews than I am personally just to stay objective. Don't get me wrong, I fucking love this album, lol.

HeroZero
November 30th 2011



21 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wasn't directing that at you Wins. regardless of what you think of an album you at least like to critique things, and look subjectively. I was responding to witchxrapist

loveisamixtape
November 30th 2011



5952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

seven is the best song without cleans in my opinion

very well written

Winsomniac
November 30th 2011



7968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Brb, laying low living things.

manicmonkey
November 30th 2011



456 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice review, gonna listen to this shortly!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy