The Black Keys El Camino
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
LG
December 5th 2011


3049 Comments


its just not right...

klap
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2011


10423 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

activa it's the chorus to lonely boy

Digging: Tennis - Ritual In Repeat

omnipanzer
December 6th 2011


21455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"This is far too tame for the Black Keys, and I don't like the electronic brushes on this album at all. Attack & Release is much, much better than this album."

that album is in the bottom 3 for me.



" fuck you all who dig this"

"lol.. dude"

Just LG being LG.

patrickfannon
December 6th 2011


886 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fair enough. I need to listen to this a few more times.

BigHans
December 6th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

finished this. Damn solid. I prefer Rubber Factory, Thickfreakness, and probably Brothers but this is a good record. It's considerably more poppy than their other releases. It kind of reminds me of Kings of Leon career arc.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2011


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

But instead of the Kings Of Leon, this is far from being a sell-out.

Digging: Interpol - El Pintor

Jethro42
December 6th 2011


12440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It kind of reminds me of Kings of Leon

I've heard a big part of the album at the radio while I was on the road Sunday night and Kings of Leon quickly came to my mind too.

BigHans
December 6th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

But instead of the Kings Of Leon, this is far from being a sell-out.


^ Dude listen to Thickfreakness and this back to back and the argument can be made. I really dont care, I dont get upset about selling out unless the sell out project sucks hard.

patrickfannon
December 6th 2011


886 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I definitely heard similarities to Kings of Leon on this record as well. I thought that by the time "Lonely Boy" had ended.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2011


6448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@ Hans: I know, I love Thickfreakness (even more than this), but I get tired by people in my local circles proclaiming they sold out. I mean, they deserve to get more recognition, but getting famous wasn't their primary goal.

Anyways, this rules. Gold On The Ceiling being my fav atm.

BigHans
December 6th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I think its funny when people scream sellout. Anybody in their right mind would do the same thing if the opportunity is there. People get into music for various reasons, but anyone who says they wouldnt take the chance to cash in after years of earning their stripes is a fucking liar.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know if it's similar to The Kings Of Leon just because I've never listened to them. Honestly, I don't suppose they are that influential. You should definitely dig deeper than that.

Digging: Lo-Pan - Colossus

BigHans
December 6th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Im surprised you've never jammed the Kings Greg. I think you would like their first couple albums.

patrickfannon
December 6th 2011


886 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Selling out" often allows bands the financial freedom and flexibility to be honest and genuine. I agree, bands that have worked hard and earned recognition deserve to be paid for their effort.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I mean I've heard some of their singles, but they annoyed the hell of me. So it's kind of reasonable I haven't checked the full albums out.

BigHans
December 6th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you probably heard Use Somebody and Sex on Fire. Their first two albums are more rawkin.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2011


7391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Blah. I hate these songs. Alright. I'll try to check them out some day. This stuff seems seriously too mainstream for me.

BigHans
December 6th 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah the first two records sound nothing like Use Somebody. Most of the song are 3 minute catchy guitar songs.

omnipanzer
December 6th 2011


21455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"I prefer Rubber Factory, Thickfreakness, and probably Brothers"
Yes and yes but not Brothers for me.

It's definitely more refined and the production value is of course higher but I don't see the sell out
yet Hans. I actually think this is a step back from the sell out path Brothers was going down.

klap
Staff Reviewer
December 6th 2011


10423 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh my god if i hear the term "sell out" one more time



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy