Kate Bush 50 Words for Snow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Nagrarok
November 25th 2011


8259 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, I need to hear Hounds of Love too.

Jethro42
November 25th 2011


12480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Kate drives me crazy. I'm soon gonna make a list of my fav Kate's songs, right after my ''need prog metal recs'' list.
Some great Kate;
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1DDndY0FLI
grrrawwwrrrrrr

Gyromania
November 25th 2011


15941 Comments


Other than that, though, sentences like this...


More than anything though, 50 Words For Snow works well as something minimal; unlike other releases,
Bush really fixates on the inclusion of negative space to make way for drafty ambiance


...really make your reviews a joy to read.


Haha, I thought FOR SURE you were going to bash that sentence based on the setup :P Anyways, thank
you very much, Eli - your words are, as always, greatly appreciated. Let me address the points you
made though. Firstly, I said 'one of' to avoid people saying that it's too bold a claim (although I
really should get rid of 'inarguably'), but I still felt confident because almost all of the artists
Jethro listed have cited Bush as one of, in not their greatest influence. Secondly, I seem to have a
difficult time with semicolons and colons every now and then =[ This is the way I'm approaching it
though: colons are typically used to introduce a list of things, however, they can also be used to
introduce both an explanation or definition of something as well. I'm kind of styling it from
reading James Joyce's 'A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man' but I will most certainly look more
into it. Thanks for the pointers! Also, have you heard any of Bush's earlier day albums?

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

RosaParks
November 26th 2011


14926 Comments


Kate Bush invented riffs

Photon
November 27th 2011


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

why haven't i listen to her before. This album is truly amazing. Any recs on albums to check out first?

Fugue
November 27th 2011


7353 Comments


Of hers? As you liked this go straight to Hounds of Love, stop off at The Dreaming and The Kick Inside and then hit up Aerial.

Photon
November 27th 2011


1292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks for the Recs.

Nomad
November 27th 2011


247 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Title track is current fav

Titan50
November 27th 2011


4588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Her voice...

Just...

UGH

Gyromania
November 28th 2011


15941 Comments


Hey cool: http://www.katebushnews.com/index.php/2011/11/a-brilliant-and-warm-ode-to-the-season-upon-us-the-alternative-review/ =D

Jethro42
November 28th 2011


12480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

oh

DoubtGin
November 28th 2011


6752 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is pretty cool, yes

gimo80
November 29th 2011


224 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent review! Been a huge Kate Bush fan for many years and I have to say, this is probably her best work since Hounds of Love. The title track encapsulates the thesis of the album brilliantly, just an incredibly well conceived piece of work. I really want to write a review for this but ehh, I think your review summarises everything perfectly

Pos!

Gyromania
November 29th 2011


15941 Comments


Thank you! And yeah, this is right up there with her best albums - I might still raise my rating. The first track is still my favorite though.

Gyromania
November 29th 2011


15941 Comments


You're silly, Sam.

Gyromania
April 3rd 2012


15941 Comments


Have to raise my rating.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
April 3rd 2012


50555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't heard this in a while
It's getting hot as fuck so I'll probably save it for the winter

Jethro42
April 3rd 2012


12480 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

brrr

Gyromania
July 18th 2012


15941 Comments


Raised my rating for this to 4.5 during one of the hottest summers I can remember, which is so odd because this is obviously a seasonal album. I can only imagine how well it will serve me come winter.

tarkus
July 18th 2012


5560 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sweet



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy