Childish Gambino Camp
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
dookiedog543
January 4th 2014


12 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think it needs to be said, that if you had listened to his previous work and are coming to this album to bash him based on that, you may want to rethink. This album is different than anything he's ever done. The talented producers made the beats cinematic and much more orchestral, and it feels as if Glover is telling us stories more than stupid rapping over a simple hi-hat beat. At least give this a try, and then you can make any comment you wish afterwards.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
February 25th 2016


19060 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The ending of That Power is so cool idk why I love it so much. I know its not like insanely deep or anything but when I first heard it I got chills. I was also high af tho so idk...anyway okayish album.

torts
April 23rd 2016


4300 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

dude just needs to make bonfire level of banger tracks over and over again, all he's really worth. his shallow introspection really is such a turn off in every single way

InbredJed
April 23rd 2016


6524 Comments


Well said.

BlushfulHippocrene
April 23rd 2016


1904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I don't think he wrote the ending of That Power, did he? And had I not listened to Because the Internet, I might've agreed with torts, but I think that project improves on this quite a bit. That said, the ending of Backpackers is sweet.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2016


39289 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

don't worry I fixed the tracklisting to this, it's a solid 3.5 if you cut out all the awful shit

BlushfulHippocrene
December 10th 2016


1904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Which songs did you cut, man?

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2016


39289 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

chop Firefly, All the Shine, Backpackers, LES, You See Me and Sunrise



chuck in the whole EP and the Longest Text Message (how the hell did that song not make the album in the first place???) and you got a quality album

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2016


39289 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

oh to answer your question from like 8 months ago, no Donald didn't write the That Power monologue, credit to that goes to DC Pierson who was with Donny in the Derrick Comedy trio (and also has some surprisingly good raps on the very early Gambino mixtapes)

BlushfulHippocrene
December 10th 2016


1904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Going to give it a listen with that tracklisting, cheers. And yeah, I'd heard so. God, I used to love Derrick Comedy. Keyboard Kid killed me.

Chortles
December 10th 2016


20736 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

high school mems from derrick comedy maaan

Digging: DJ Rashad - Just A Taste

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2016


19060 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

derrick comedy was amazing. this album isn't

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2016


39289 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

WHAT THE FUCK BELANIE

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2016


39289 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Btw Blushful try it like this, flows smooth af



Outside, Freaks n Geeks, My Shine, Bonfire, Kids, Longest Text Message, Be Alone, Letter Home, Hold You Down, Break (All of the Lights), Heartbeat, Not Going Back, That Power

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 11th 2016


19060 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That Power is the only thing that gives any significant meaning to this album, especially the way he structured BTI

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 11th 2016


39289 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

depends on your definition of "significant meaning" I guess, I'd certainly argue Heartbeat is a meaningful song if nothin else

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 11th 2016


19060 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah i meant thematically helps bridge the two albums and Camp's playfulness makes sense. Heartbeat is meaningful but doesn't add anything within the context of the album. one of the best on here though

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
December 11th 2016


39289 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

there isn't really any context or flow to this album it's just "here's a bunch of songs I recorded in 2011", I do love the That Power outro tho, gorgeous writing

BlushfulHippocrene
December 11th 2016


1904 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Just listened in that order Rowan, it flows so well. Cheers for that, probably going to keep this playlist in rotation. Forgot how insanely fun Freaks and Geeks was.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
December 11th 2016


19060 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

exactly Rowan and the only reason That Power seems to have context is because of BTI aha



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy