Drake Take Care
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
gabethepiratesquid
November 15th 2011



4521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I love Marvin's Room so much but the Good Ones Go interlude is definitely the R&B height of the album. I just wish it wasn't attached to the only real filler song of the album next to Shots For Me.

fuckthatnoise
November 15th 2011



1479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it's because, for me, the songs on this are just more memorable, which is already a very good improvement on it's own, but the fact that this thing is 80 fucking minutes long and rarely falters makes it even more impressive.

gabethepiratesquid
November 15th 2011



4521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Oh shit, Idnuf if you're reading this I don't want to edit the comment because that will kill all of the line breaks because of this site's stupid HTML so this is the R&B song I meant to post for Take Care
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DNDxuI05M9I

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2011



14884 Comments


"cameras" isnt amazing i will agree but i do really like whatever sample that is in the chorus

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2011



14884 Comments


and OHHH i know you dont looooove meee baaaaby *bass enters* shivers down my fucking spine every time

Idnuf
November 15th 2011



1491 Comments


Hm, listening to Good Ones Go right now and maybe I just have to settle for "it's not quite my style" (though I appreciate your post on the last page). I have the same problem with the R&B stuff and the rap stuff in that it doesn't have any impact. I mean I know R&B just isn't my cup of tea in general but Drake is so flat and unmemorable for me. It's not like I need music to come out and punch me in the face for me to understand it but this is does nothing. I think the right word is harmless. The lyrics are harmless, his flow is harmless, his voice is harmless (also I just don't like the timbre of it), his production is harmless, everything. I can't remember a single thing about any Drake song I've heard.

gabethepiratesquid
November 15th 2011



4521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

That's all cool, cuz. Different strokes, etc.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2011



14884 Comments


NOOOOO what are we doing. i dont want legitimate conversation. not in my thread

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2011



14884 Comments


idnuf that totally makes sense. but to me "harmless" is something more like....intensely pleasing? drake's tracks i guess dont really shock me with their audacity as much as...i don't know. it's just like taking a nice bath. except the bath is filled with slick gorgeous synth pads and beats instead of water. yeah. like that

MisterTornado
Contributing Reviewer
November 15th 2011



4213 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The man sampled DJ Screw on the last 20 seconds of the first track.

Digging: Ju Sei and Utah Kawasaki - ??????

gabethepiratesquid
November 15th 2011



4521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hahaha what an analogy.

but really, I think 40's my second favorite modern producer under Clams Casino. Those low end grooves along with nearly invisible synths sometimes that you have to catch and those hard drums that punctuate with hardly a hi hat to be seen. Mmmmm.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2011



14884 Comments


every time i listen to this album i totally forget about the lil b esque monologues at the end of shot for me and headlines

Sleaper
November 15th 2011



3140 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

anyone else obsessed with andre 3000s verse in the real her?

Digging: SpaceGhostPurrp - B.M.W. 2: Intoxxxicated

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2011



14884 Comments


last.fm tells me i've listened 133 songs by drake (from this album) in the last 7 days

woops

gabethepiratesquid
November 16th 2011



4521 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I can predict his mixtape with Weezy won't go very well, but I'm kind of worried that he'll get comfy at the top and start only going downhill from here.

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2011



16072 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I just want to address Deviant: this is probably the most hyped up release of the year barring maybe
Watch the Throne. obviously the blogosphere isn't representative of what ACTUAL people listen to

Zorak
November 16th 2011



3188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is fucking awesome.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2011



30301 Comments


I just want to address Deviant: this is probably the most hyped up release of the year barring maybe
Watch the Throne. obviously the blogosphere isn't representative of what ACTUAL people listen to


I still fail to see how this is the case

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

Zorak
November 16th 2011



3188 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

marvin's room is the shit. I THINK I'M ADDICTED TO NAKED PICTURES AND SITTIN TALKIN BOUT BITCHES THAT WE ALMOST HAD

Iluvatar
Staff Reviewer
November 16th 2011



16072 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

bro the "urban market" LOVES DRAKE. the "suburban market" LOVES DRAKE. drake is a master of procuring hype, all i hear about at work and out and about is about 'the new drake mix' and 'the new record droppin soon'

i am pretty sure drake is legitimately one of the most hyped artists consistently man



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy