Blut Aus Nord 777 - The Desanctification
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2011



17378 Comments


oh hey

ITS VALERIUS

Digging: Steve Moore - Zero-Point Field

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2011



16027 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Often music is 100% about the atmosphere, go listen to Raison d'ĂȘtre and moan about how there's no song structures you musically deaf neanderthals.

Except I was talking about black metal not dark ambient. And nowhere do I say that not having song structure is a bad thing. Re-read.

good review, except i dont think i quite agree with your introduction

music can be a product of atmosphere, not just the other way around

I tried to think of any concrete examples within the genre but I came up with a blank.


Digging: Katatonia - Kocytean

rasputin
November 13th 2011



14504 Comments


it's more relevant to drone based stuff

for example, records that use field recordings and things like that

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2011



16027 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I was specifically referencing black metal when I said that, I added a little bit on to the sentence to clarify. Too many bm bands are so caught up in trying to create that proverbial black metal aura that they forget they are trying to make music.

Gmork89
November 14th 2011



5410 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I agree Crysis, but I also think that holding the 777 series of albums to Black Metal standards is kind of a long shot as most of it's best moments are far and away the industrial parts. There is very little BM to be had from these guys anymore aside from vocals.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2011



16126 Comments


Nah, the attempt at "industrial" is pretty poor too.

Vesper
November 14th 2011



3085 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

have u even heard throbbing gristle gmork

iliketherain
November 14th 2011



52 Comments


it's not bad, not amazing either.

Oathbreaker
November 14th 2011



1649 Comments


"and deathspell suck"
Alright, I'm outta here, this place sucks.

nagstar89
November 14th 2011



71 Comments


That said..Epitome VIII is one helluva track


Wizard
November 14th 2011



18793 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I think this whole trilogy is pretty much dead.

And they started off on such a high note too...

Anyways, I think this is the first time in years we agree on a rating/ criticisms hahahaha. I have nothing further to add so that I don't blow this buddy/ buddy moment with you and that I may preserve this moment in time!

I agree Crysis, but I also think that holding the 777 series of albums to Black Metal standards is kind of a long shot as most of it's best moments are far and away the industrial parts. There is very little BM to be had from these guys anymore aside from vocals.

This is more related to bm than industrial.

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2011



16027 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Anyways, I think this is the first time in years we agree on a rating/ criticisms hahahaha. I have nothing further to add so that I don't blow this buddy/ buddy moment with you and that I may preserve this moment in time!


Wow, definitely the first time in a while!

And I would agree that the industrial influences are just that - influences. This is still black metal through and through.

Tyrael
November 14th 2011



20441 Comments


Maybe it's just me but for me BM is all about atmosphere, and this record definitely feels like BM to me

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2011



8590 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

i'm all alone again :[

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Tyrael
November 14th 2011



20441 Comments


I'm working on a review for this atm and it might turn out to be something like a 3.5 in the end

Oathbreaker
November 14th 2011



1649 Comments


3.5 is what it feels like to me right now too.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
November 14th 2011



8590 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

the atmosphere just pulls me right in and it seems more focused and less disjointed than sect(s), i definitely prefer it. :]

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2011



16027 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The atmosphere is very constant, yes. Constantly boring.

seedofnothing
November 14th 2011



3425 Comments


album is terrible

SowerKraut
November 14th 2011



236 Comments


They just had to put the coolest album art on their worst album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy