Dixie Witch Let It Roll
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jesuslaves
November 12th 2011



4655 Comments


Anyone heard their previous album, Smoke and Mirrors?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Yes. It was decent, but it really didn't resonate with me the way it should have. This one's much better imo.

Digging: Dog Fashion Disco - Sweet Nothings

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



8318 Comments


I know. I didn't imply you're close-minded.
And I didn't imply that you implied haha. Just threw that out there.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



8318 Comments


Also, congrats on joining me in the featured area!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Cool. I hope it'll encourage some people to check this out.

Jethro42
November 12th 2011



12377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm skeptical when it comes to bands with drummers as lead singer. Drumming alone is more than a full job, trust me. Is it the Grand Selmer's drummer? I ask because the guy knows how to sing. Excellent review, mate. Keep it up, soon you're gonna hit your 50th, geez! I'm gonna take a look to your links later.
Edit; hey ho, congrats on the feature!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 12th 2011



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Thanks dude. Nah. It isn't the singer/drummer of Grand Selmer (these guys are from Sweden).

Vocals are definitely the strongest component of Dixie Witch's sound right now. Trinidad Leal certainly does a great job here making the music more powerful and memorable. For a change, "Boogie Man," "Automatic Lady" and "Saving Grace" (this one's so good) are sung by Curt Christenson, the band's bass player. The vocals by these two guys definitely stand out in the genre. I wish the music was more adventurous.

SteelErectedb4you8er
November 13th 2011



2613 Comments


Greg is nice of you to take the stoner rock helm for this page, I would like to join you because there a lot of great stoner rock albums that have yet to be mentioned, but I am lazy. Keep it man! Dixie Witch have been kicking for ages!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2011



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Yeah Steve. I'd use some help bringing kick-ass stoner rock acts to Sputnik's attention. Seriously, there are so many of them.

SteelErectedb4you8er
November 13th 2011



2613 Comments


Doom/retro rock/metal along with 60s/70s bands have been my bag lately, well, actually it has been my bag since Witchcraft and Burning Saviours started, but there has been a resurgence of some great bands lately. And as far as stoner rock, I have Halfway to Gone back in my playlist, I can't believe it has been 7 years for those fuckers. But I will help you in this fight!

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 13th 2011



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Your help will be welcome. Halfway to Gone are amazing and they definitely need to release the album no.4. I actually reviewed their second record not so long time ago. Doom metal also seems to be not very popular among reviewers here so you definitely found your own niche.

Bleekill
November 13th 2011



832 Comments


this looks like radio stoner rock.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 14th 2011



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

It's true this is very accessible given the anthemic and upbeat character of the music. I wish they actually played such music on the radio. Wishful thinking...

Bleekill
November 14th 2011



832 Comments


I didn't even listen to it, just based my decision on the band, album and song names and the album cover lol.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 15th 2011



7317 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I didn't assume you had listened to it, just was stating the fact.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy