Genesis Invisible Touch
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Jethro42
November 8th 2011



12351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Like your new summary is saying Hans, this is some grrreat Collins. But it's not what I expect to hear in my Genesis. Also I'm really surprised to see you rating Genesis Archives I at a 4.5. Are you sure you didn't mean Archives II??

BigHans
November 8th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think youre right Jethro. I actually do like old Genesis too, in small doses.

TheNotrap
November 8th 2011



7959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Like your new summary is saying Hans, this is some grreat Collins"
Guys don't forget that Rutherford and Banks are co-writers.

"All music by Tony Banks/Phil Collins/Mike Rutherford"



Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2011



19905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can't give this any higher than a 3.

Jethro42
November 8th 2011



12351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@Notrap; All the Genesis songs were always being credited to all its members. They always worked in a democratic way. The point is, if you close your eyes and listen, one can tell it's some Phil Collins material.
@Hans, man, I can understand why people happen to not be fond of the old Genesis. It takes time to sink in... Especially for the 2nd generation fans.

TheNotrap
November 8th 2011



7959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sure I knew that Jethro.
But if you listen to Mike + The Mechanics, they're sound is also very far from the Genesis classic era (70's). It's the sign of the times...Genesis needed to change. Tony Banks, Phil Collins and Mike Rutherford needed to change.

Some people just didn't/don't like their dive into 80's (a more radio friendly sound).

KILL
November 8th 2011



70330 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

rush did it way better

Digging: Gal Costa - Gal Costa

Jethro42
November 8th 2011



12351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah Rush music never seemed to get affected by the ruthless Dark Age of prog. They had to take the virage like any prog legends of the 70s for sure, but however they always stayed trve to their identity despite the pressure of the market. I tip my hat to these guys for that.
@Notrap; Of what I heard to date, Mike and the Mechanics are ...nothing too special save a song or 2. Kinda conformed to the new-wave-wave.

BigHans
November 8th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

listen to the brilliant ensemble playing of Banks, Rutherford, and Collins. Its like one instrument.

Christie, remove your dress.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
November 8th 2011



19905 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

My 3's probably a bit generous actually but I wil says this:
80's pop>>>>90's and 00's pop.

TheNotrap
November 8th 2011



7959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Agreed

Jethro42
November 8th 2011



12351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

80's P/

Jethro42
November 8th 2011



12351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

listen to the brilliant ensemble playing of Banks, Rutherford, and Collins. Its like one instrument.

(Yeah but Hackett is missing soooo much to complete tha magic)
Have you even heard ''And then there were three''? ''Duke''?


BigHans
November 8th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Have you even seen American Psycho?

Jethro42
November 8th 2011



12351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No I haven't. I don't think so for the least.
Also, I don't mean to rush you, but Genesis performing live is pretty much the best experience ever.



BigHans
November 8th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Watth this Jethro, this is what Im talking about

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gUytEXTdx9A

TheNotrap
November 8th 2011



7959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Have you even seen American Psycho?"
Bateman rules hard. He's the man.

Jethro42
November 8th 2011



12351 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

hahaha wow. Finally a guy who speaks more about Genesis than myself. I noticed you did a nod and a wink to that movie in your actual review, Hans. e.g. ''Old Genesis is too artsy, to intellectual'' It seems I've missed a great movie (as usual) according to what I just read on wiki.
Edit; And there's the origin of the sonic/KILL' reference concerning Bateman, finally.

BigHans
November 8th 2011



26455 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yes Jethro, and my recent White Lion - Pride review is done in the form of Patrick Bateman. Check it out.

KILL
November 8th 2011



70330 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

CAN YOU TELL ME WHERE MY COUNTRY LIES



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy