Flourishing The Sum of All Fossils
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ire
November 5th 2011


41845 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

andy knows what's up



rules pretty hard





ShadowRemains
November 5th 2011


21935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the part where it goes to a more simple drum beat and with that really atmospheric riff gives me chills

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


8442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

I did read the review but I'm still gonna ask you guys for confirmation: would I possibly like this?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


8442 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Awesome, getting this then

Wizard
November 5th 2011


19767 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

And I have yet to here the cynicism from RiffOClock.

Digging: Leviathan - Scar Sighted

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


19368 Comments


Not a 5 but rules nonetheless. A Thimbles Worth and By Which We're Cemented are the best tracks.

Digging: The Caretaker - An Empty Bliss Beyond This World

Inveigh
November 5th 2011


25406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

idk if it's a 5 but this is really fucking good



not sure what to call this new movement in dm... i guess "atmospheric death metal" is what i've been hearing but bands like this, Ulcerate and Desolate Shrine are creating some damn interesting music.

Digging: Thou / The Body - You, Whom I Have Always Hated

Inveigh
November 5th 2011


25406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

oh and good review

liledman
November 5th 2011


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the way i see it these guys are coming from another angle to ulcerate, but heading towards the same sound. ulcerate

being tight, very technical, relentless; these guys being more sludgy and organic i guess.



now i wait for the band that occupies the space between.

Sound
November 5th 2011


3911 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Neg could be for the lack of apostrophes in the first paragraph.



Listened to a track from this on youtube and it wasn't really my thing.

sifFlammable
November 5th 2011


2741 Comments


this is excellent thx

i dont know how you guys catch up with all the new releases

ShadowRemains
November 5th 2011


21935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

now i wait for the band that occupies the space between.




or perhaps for flourishing to streamline their sound a little more



if everything on this album was the quality of A Thimble's Worth, that would be amazing...





Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


19368 Comments


this is really the only "atmospheric" dm ive liked, and i take that term to mean bands like ulcerate and mitochondrion

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


16636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't like the term "atmospheric death metal" something sounds redundant there.

Digging: Drudkh - Microcosmos

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


19368 Comments


redundant?

you sure thats the right word?

ShadowRemains
November 5th 2011


21935 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

probably cuz death metal is supposed to be primal and budgeoning and atmospheric is chilled and more thought-provoking or w/e idk...

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


16636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

redundant?



you sure thats the right word?


Yes because it is sort of implied that there will be atmosphere. The same goes for atmospheric black metal.



Like I don't listen to the new Disma album and say "whoa this is sum good atmospheric dm" I'd sound like a fucking retard if I said that.

Wizard
November 5th 2011


19767 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I can definitely see atmosphere in dm from your perspective Kyle but I use it in the sense that it seems to be a legit sound in most of the readers ears.



Neg could be for the lack of apostrophes in the first paragraph.



Probably and I will fix them up.

Relinquished
November 5th 2011


27210 Comments


atmospheric dm sounds ok like atmospheric sludge metal

Inveigh
November 5th 2011


25406 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

^I agree



I don't think it's redundant, there's plenty of dm that's not focused on atmosphere. Isn't "brutal

death metal" much more redundant?



Like I don't listen to the new Disma album and say "whoa this is sum good atmospheric dm" I'd

sound like a fucking retard if I said that.


I wouldn't group Disma in with the likes of Ulcerate, Flourishing, Desolate Shrine or Mitochondrion.

So yeah, that would sound kinda dumb but I mean it would also be dumb to say "whoa this is sum good

deathcore" about Suffocation.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy