Flourishing The Sum of All Fossils
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ire
November 5th 2011



41749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

andy knows what's up

rules pretty hard



ShadowRemains
November 5th 2011



20252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the part where it goes to a more simple drum beat and with that really atmospheric riff gives me chills

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011



8318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

I did read the review but I'm still gonna ask you guys for confirmation: would I possibly like this?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011



8318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Awesome, getting this then

Wizard
November 5th 2011



19240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

And I have yet to here the cynicism from RiffOClock.

Digging: Cloak of Altering - Plague Beasts

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011



18063 Comments


Not a 5 but rules nonetheless. A Thimbles Worth and By Which We're Cemented are the best tracks.

Digging: Huerco S - Colonial Patterns

Inveigh
November 5th 2011



24800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

idk if it's a 5 but this is really fucking good

not sure what to call this new movement in dm... i guess "atmospheric death metal" is what i've been hearing but bands like this, Ulcerate and Desolate Shrine are creating some damn interesting music.

Inveigh
November 5th 2011



24800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

oh and good review

liledman
November 5th 2011



3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the way i see it these guys are coming from another angle to ulcerate, but heading towards the same sound. ulcerate
being tight, very technical, relentless; these guys being more sludgy and organic i guess.

now i wait for the band that occupies the space between.

Sound
November 5th 2011



3887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Neg could be for the lack of apostrophes in the first paragraph.

Listened to a track from this on youtube and it wasn't really my thing.

sifFlammable
November 5th 2011



2741 Comments


this is excellent thx

i dont know how you guys catch up with all the new releases

ShadowRemains
November 5th 2011



20252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

now i wait for the band that occupies the space between.


or perhaps for flourishing to streamline their sound a little more

if everything on this album was the quality of A Thimble's Worth, that would be amazing...



Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011



18063 Comments


this is really the only "atmospheric" dm ive liked, and i take that term to mean bands like ulcerate and mitochondrion

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011



16263 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't like the term "atmospheric death metal" something sounds redundant there.

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011



18063 Comments


redundant?

you sure thats the right word?

ShadowRemains
November 5th 2011



20252 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

probably cuz death metal is supposed to be primal and budgeoning and atmospheric is chilled and more thought-provoking or w/e idk...

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011



16263 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

redundant?

you sure thats the right word?

Yes because it is sort of implied that there will be atmosphere. The same goes for atmospheric black metal.

Like I don't listen to the new Disma album and say "whoa this is sum good atmospheric dm" I'd sound like a fucking retard if I said that.

Wizard
November 5th 2011



19240 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I can definitely see atmosphere in dm from your perspective Kyle but I use it in the sense that it seems to be a legit sound in most of the readers ears.

Neg could be for the lack of apostrophes in the first paragraph.

Probably and I will fix them up.

Relinquished
November 5th 2011



24472 Comments


atmospheric dm sounds ok like atmospheric sludge metal

Inveigh
November 5th 2011



24800 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

^I agree

I don't think it's redundant, there's plenty of dm that's not focused on atmosphere. Isn't "brutal
death metal" much more redundant?

Like I don't listen to the new Disma album and say "whoa this is sum good atmospheric dm" I'd
sound like a fucking retard if I said that.

I wouldn't group Disma in with the likes of Ulcerate, Flourishing, Desolate Shrine or Mitochondrion.
So yeah, that would sound kinda dumb but I mean it would also be dumb to say "whoa this is sum good
deathcore" about Suffocation.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy