Flourishing The Sum of All Fossils
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Ire
November 5th 2011


41763 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

andy knows what's up

rules pretty hard



ShadowRemains
November 5th 2011


20694 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the part where it goes to a more simple drum beat and with that really atmospheric riff gives me chills

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

I did read the review but I'm still gonna ask you guys for confirmation: would I possibly like this?

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


8357 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Awesome, getting this then

Wizard
November 5th 2011


19389 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

And I have yet to here the cynicism from RiffOClock.

Digging: Mistigo Varggoth Darkestra - The Key to the Gates of the Apocalypse

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


18453 Comments


Not a 5 but rules nonetheless. A Thimbles Worth and By Which We're Cemented are the best tracks.

Digging: Recondite - Caldera/DRGN 2

Inveigh
November 5th 2011


24963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

idk if it's a 5 but this is really fucking good

not sure what to call this new movement in dm... i guess "atmospheric death metal" is what i've been hearing but bands like this, Ulcerate and Desolate Shrine are creating some damn interesting music.

Digging: YOB - Clearing The Path To Ascend

Inveigh
November 5th 2011


24963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

oh and good review

liledman
November 5th 2011


3826 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the way i see it these guys are coming from another angle to ulcerate, but heading towards the same sound. ulcerate
being tight, very technical, relentless; these guys being more sludgy and organic i guess.

now i wait for the band that occupies the space between.

Sound
November 5th 2011


3901 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Neg could be for the lack of apostrophes in the first paragraph.

Listened to a track from this on youtube and it wasn't really my thing.

sifFlammable
November 5th 2011


2741 Comments


this is excellent thx

i dont know how you guys catch up with all the new releases

ShadowRemains
November 5th 2011


20694 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

now i wait for the band that occupies the space between.


or perhaps for flourishing to streamline their sound a little more

if everything on this album was the quality of A Thimble's Worth, that would be amazing...



Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


18453 Comments


this is really the only "atmospheric" dm ive liked, and i take that term to mean bands like ulcerate and mitochondrion

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


16387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't like the term "atmospheric death metal" something sounds redundant there.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


18453 Comments


redundant?

you sure thats the right word?

ShadowRemains
November 5th 2011


20694 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

probably cuz death metal is supposed to be primal and budgeoning and atmospheric is chilled and more thought-provoking or w/e idk...

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
November 5th 2011


16387 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

redundant?

you sure thats the right word?

Yes because it is sort of implied that there will be atmosphere. The same goes for atmospheric black metal.

Like I don't listen to the new Disma album and say "whoa this is sum good atmospheric dm" I'd sound like a fucking retard if I said that.

Wizard
November 5th 2011


19389 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I can definitely see atmosphere in dm from your perspective Kyle but I use it in the sense that it seems to be a legit sound in most of the readers ears.

Neg could be for the lack of apostrophes in the first paragraph.

Probably and I will fix them up.

Relinquished
November 5th 2011


25004 Comments


atmospheric dm sounds ok like atmospheric sludge metal

Inveigh
November 5th 2011


24963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

^I agree

I don't think it's redundant, there's plenty of dm that's not focused on atmosphere. Isn't "brutal
death metal" much more redundant?

Like I don't listen to the new Disma album and say "whoa this is sum good atmospheric dm" I'd
sound like a fucking retard if I said that.

I wouldn't group Disma in with the likes of Ulcerate, Flourishing, Desolate Shrine or Mitochondrion.
So yeah, that would sound kinda dumb but I mean it would also be dumb to say "whoa this is sum good
deathcore" about Suffocation.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy