Megadeth Th1rt3en
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
CrownOfMagnets
November 1st 2011


2334 Comments


I'm reading Mustaine's book right now. It's awesome.

Scoot
November 1st 2011


18039 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

yeah this is not that great

Digging: The Wrens - The Meadowlands

Supergon
November 1st 2011


3 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"What really propelled Endgame was the opening 1-2 punch. So fucking epic."



So true. In fact I've listened the whole Endgame like 10 or 12 times, but each of those have 50+ listens.

Ending
November 1st 2011


1924 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

3.5 is just where this album should be in my opinion. Review summed up most of what I thought of the album.

CakeWithCream
November 1st 2011


1031 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

"As far as 80s thrash metal bands go, Megadeth has undoubtedly aged the best. "



Ever listen to Overkill?



But besides that, good review, I agreed with everything you said, except my rating is a bit higher

TheNotrap
November 1st 2011


8252 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Agreed

However Ironbound has some cool moments.



Some examples of old school bands with recent cool albums:



Sodom

Testament

Anthrax

Exodus

CakeWithCream
November 1st 2011


1031 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Guess it depends how you define 'aged well', Overkill had some killer albums early and their 'middle

albums' weren't albums like Risk or Cryptic Writings. Overkill wrote thrash albums throughout their

entire career and Ironbound was an amazing album.



Only thing I can think of is if you're talking about Bobby Blitz then no, he hasn't aged well since he

got a stroke on stage

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2011


2089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm reading Mustaine's book right now. It's awesome.




Yeah, that book was a surprisingly good read.



Listening to this right now. I'll be interested to see how the B-sides fit in and what happened to 'em. But "Sudden Death" is still epic and I'm into the soloing on "Public Enemy No. 1," even if Mustaine's lyrics have been horrible since... practically forever.

Digging: Jakub Zytecki - Wishful Lotus Proof

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2011


2089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Overkill is still pretty fucking awesome.



Whoever decided the end of "Guns, Drugs, & Money" needed Mariachi deserves a pimp slap.



While I appreciate that Dave tried to shine it up, "New World Order" sounded way better as a B-Side

demo on Youthanasia. It loses so much of its punk/thrash sensibilities on this one. And the leads

sound so much more... impressive on the demo.

CakeWithCream
November 1st 2011


1031 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah, nothing Overkill has written comes close to RIP or Peace Sells but it's not saying Years of Decay or Feel the Fire were bad by any means, those records were still great. I wouldn't say watered down but it was just average Overkill thrash.



I think the album would've been better if New World Order wasn't on it... and if Fast Lane and Whose Life Is It Anyways's lyrics were rewritten. The music kicked ass but the lyrics make me feel like a little 10 year old

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2011


2089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Dave needs to man up and hire a lyricist for sure.



Still between 3 and 3.5 on this. I like the Millenium of the Blind rework and Black Swan sounds pretty

cool. 13 is a great track, too. Probably my favorite at the moment.



But a lot of the album feels kinda hollow, and a lot of it is in production, lyrics, and singing.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2011


6561 Comments


Excellent review.

Probably won't bother with this.

Digging: Devil's Train - II

Willie
Moderator
November 1st 2011


16194 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

So, I finally listened to this. Not terrible but nothing special either. And their drummer is just boring as fuck.

BigHans
November 1st 2011


26515 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

was gonna review it but its probably too boring to do so.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2011


2089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm considering it right now. Depends on how the rest of my day goes, I guess.

AtomicWaste
Staff Reviewer
November 1st 2011


2089 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wasn't bullshit like "Fast Lane" already tackled by "I Can't Drive 55?"



I mean, fuck.

Valerius
November 1st 2011


1137 Comments


lol

bloc
November 1st 2011


35263 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The guitar leads on this are awesome

keyserfunk
November 1st 2011


288 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I am simply befuddled every time I read someone write United Abominations, Endgame, and Thirteen are anything near good albums. I feel nothing but disappointment when I hear them.

CrackeTheSkull
November 1st 2011


752 Comments


The Megadeth formula has gotten kind of tired recently to be completely honest... I mean there were
about 4-5 really good songs off of Endgame but the only one I felt like coming back to a month later
was Dialectic Chaos.

Peace Sells and Rust in Peace are both timeless, everything else from this band and tends to die
quickly for some reason.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy