Lantlos Agape
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2011


18461 Comments


its on like donkey kong

Digging: Recondite - Caldera/DRGN 2

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2011


18461 Comments


For a 35 minute black metal album to spend more time being ambient than metal due to the
inconsistent ordering of the track sections is just strange.


It's lines like this in reviews that make me completely disregard them. That statement basically
says
"i was expecting "x" and got "y" so it's not good".

It seems to me like you gave the album very little time to settle in before you solidified your
opinion and now judge what you hear based on that opinion.

Also this is in no way shape or form a black metal album.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2011


8818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

It's lines like this in reviews that make me completely disregard them. That statement basically says "i was expecting "x" and got "y" so it's not good".


i can assure you that's not the case whatsoever so stop trying to make out little ways to make my opinion seem less formulated than yours. i'm not doing the same to your opinion and nor would i, so quit it.

It seems to me like you gave the album very little time to settle in before you solidified your opinion and now judge what you hear based on that opinion.


i don't think 5 listens is really that "little time" at all really. i only ever write a review if i'm truly decided on something, if i'm not 100% sure i write a soundoff. i've given this a chance and i think it's good but some things about it ruin it for me..

Also this is in no way shape or form a black metal album.


and that changes what, exactly? is this meant to magically make me enjoy it? the black metal influences are damn obvious.

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2011


18461 Comments


If you want to have an opinion be prepared to defend it, its not a personal attack on you.

And that is exactly what that statement implies.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2011


8818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

no no no i totally understand having to defend my opinion

but you didn't attack my opinion, you attacked how i allegedly came to my opinion, which you know absolutely nothing about.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2011


18461 Comments


I merely stated the opinion you have reflects a rather unfair bias (whether intentional or not) towards what the album is actually doing, and i think that's a fair enough assumption.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2011


8818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

well perhaps it's bad wording in the review on my part

i stated why it being more ambient than metal doesn't really work when i talked about my comparison with nadja, i just don't think that the ambient sections resonate well at all due to its length since it's not around for long enough for you to really get lost in the sound and the songs are written and paced in a way that makes it seem like the record is far longer than it actually is.

it's not the fact that it has ambient that bugs me at all, rest assured. this is exactly what i wanted from lantlos sound-wise, i just think that lets it down.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2011


18461 Comments


I've been listening to this steadily since it started streaming and my initial reaction was less than positive. But once i stopped listening parts kept creeping back into my head, the album is brilliant in it's subtlety.

I honestly think Eribo is the best thing Herbst has ever done and i think this album is unfortunately doomed to be completely misunderstood.

Relinquished
October 28th 2011


25033 Comments


peace and love guys

peace and love :]

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2011


8818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

honestly the same has happened to me, a lot of the parts kept creeping back in and it is good, hence my rating

i just think the things i mentioned in the review hold it back from being better than good for me.

of course i'm still listening to it and it may change but i doubt it. we'll see though!

peace and love guys

peace and love :]


yayyyy!! :]

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2011


18461 Comments


I like you noctus don't ever think i don't, but sometimes your opinions just baffle me, don't take it
personally though :]

It's healthy to disagree and at least discuss it with someone rather than resort to "your opinion
sucks" like 99% of this site/the internet.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2011


8818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

agreed :] sometimes my opinions baffle even myself, i'm weird, heh [:

FatChickIrl
October 28th 2011


4096 Comments


this is like channel CSPN except for black metal

zaruyache
October 29th 2011


6433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sometimes my opinions baffle even myself

True dat. Your reviews are good but sometimes your ratings seem to have abso-freaking-lutely no rhyme or reason to them at all. But there's nothing wrong with that.

Digging: CHVRCHES - The Bones of What You Believe

seedofnothing
October 29th 2011


3425 Comments


honest review, pos

who the fuck gave this a 5

kangaroopoo
October 29th 2011


3175 Comments


Added 'White Miasma' + cover 'Where Have You Gone My Friend' to make it a 50min album :]

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2011


8818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

yeah those tracks are great, i enjoy them more than the album itself being honest :]

Idnuf
October 29th 2011


1491 Comments


Review is eh, I expect more from you Noctus :[

also, "there's just not enough meat here for it to stand on its own" :]

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2011


8818 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

why do you think that? :[ i've done better but i've done a lot worse too

and hehehe! :]

fuckthatnoise
October 29th 2011


1479 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

really enjoying this so far, will definitely be checking out their other stuff.

You Feel Like Memories is fucking fantastic btw.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy