A Lot Like Birds Conversation Piece
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
taxidermist
October 27th 2011



7175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I like it, but yesterday when I was listening to it I ended up listening to something else (Neutral Milk Hotel). Guess I wasn't in the mood.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2011



9517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Dude, Neutral Milk Hotel is fantastic at least. I've been playing the new Forza 4 game with this album, and they go together quite well :]

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

danielito19
October 27th 2011



3083 Comments


Since this was directed at me and my review:

I said it once before, I will say it again, your review should have simply consisted of "I don't like Kurt Travis' vocals, and my small mind won't let me see past it without severe bias"

Again with the DGD comparisons. Did you really even listen to the entire album? You honestly think "Truly Random Code," "The Blowtorch is Applied to the Sugar," and "Orange Time Machines Care" have anything to do with DGD besides the simple fact that they share a single singer?

"The lyrical quality has also fallen on Conversation Piece."

This is wildly untrue. So untrue that it is incapable of being argued with. I have a feeling you did not read a single line of the screamer's lyrics/you never read plan b's

"The drummer places fills where they’re needed, and just keeps time elsewhere."

You truly have no idea what rhythmic complexity consists of. You're telling me, that the drums in What Didn't Kill Me are simply keeping time? that any average drummer can play the verses to think dirty? That the drummer of DGD (Or any other "scene" drummer) can even begin to play the poly-rhythmic 7/8 verse of Orange time machines?

Also, complaints on production value... please re-listen to Plan B. For the record, vocals are Supposed to be on top of the mix...

Finally, this album is prog as shit, more-so at times than the first record

So simply because you didn't like my review (or rather, rating), you feel the need to insult my intellect? Thanks.

On the simplest level, both bands have semi-technical riffs and a singer with a very high-pitched voice. I definitely listened to the entire album, maybe five or six times, allowing for changing of mind. If you can't see any similarities within those three tracks, I'd have to question whether you'd ever listened to Dance Gavin Dance.

I definitely read the lyrics. Now, I don't know who wrote what, but I've listened to Plan B enough that I know most of those. They were better on plan B.

I have no idea what rhythmical complexity is? Ok. Polyrhythms and changing time signatures are a skill that any drummer needs to be able to be competent in today's punk/metal scene. I'm not saying that 'some other scene drummer' can necessarily do it, but it's definitely a skill that isn't incredibly unique.

Vocals are not always supposed to be on top of the mix, especially when the melodies aren't anything special. The vocals should be more in-line with the other instruments, instead of covering them.

'Prog as shit,' huh? http://youtu.be/FhXz60f0HLU

Digging: Ground Zero - Revolutionary Pekinese Opera, Ver. 1.28

taxidermist
October 27th 2011



7175 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Dude, Neutral Milk Hotel is fantastic at least. I've been playing the new Forza 4 game with this album, and they go together quite well :]

Racing and ALLB do seem to go together, haha.

xMaLigNancy
October 27th 2011



6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Really really great album. Wasn't that hyped about it coming out..but once it did oh man i was hooked! Lyrics are amazing, everything..just amazing

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2011



9517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Taxidermist, try driving to Destroyer. It's the perfect music for deftly maneuvering around tight corners ;]

xMaLig, I'm glad to hear you've enjoyed it so much! Have you been a fan of A Lot Like Birds for a long time?

tkxxx7
October 27th 2011



6146 Comments


They were better on plan B.


one could argue that they were only better on Plan B because there were so few



SmokingTheClouds
October 27th 2011



639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I THINK I'M FALLING ASLEEP!

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2011



9517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Lol the caps lock certainly indicates that

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2011



9517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

And how funny that the title of that song is all in caps as well.

On a side note, Properties of Friction is still breathtakingly gorgeous.

witchxrapist
October 28th 2011



10733 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jonny's voice isn't high at all.


is this guy high?

sniper
October 28th 2011



18596 Comments


being in an odd meter doesn't mean a part is polyrhythmic, js.

also the drummer from dance gavin dance can definitely keep up with meter changes.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2011



9517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I can understand what you mean Stokes; there are others that come to mind that have a much higher
voice than his, although his is quite high

sniper
October 28th 2011



18596 Comments


jonny craig for one

Narshh
October 28th 2011



1186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love Kurt's part on at the beginning of Orange Time Machine...Idk where I've heard this melody before but it's one of those types of singing that I always gets stuck in my head..just they voice inflections he imposes on these lines:

"I need a mind erase option, less air to the brain
If God was alive he would've amended us but then again no one has it as bad as I have or ever will to the extent that if I have to finish this, I might have to leave everything else undone "

Especially the "If God was aliveee, he would've amended us" and "I might have tooo, leave everything else undone"

Rest of the album is great too, 4 or 4.5 idk yet but w/e

Jonny Craig fits with DgD and DTBMII is awesome...and Kurt really seems at home in ALLB...I like this album more than Plan B simply because I'm more for traditionally structered songs rather than progressive, stretched out long ones. Also, I felt that ALLB seemed to convoluted on Plan B. Idk

RosaParks
October 28th 2011



14592 Comments


This album still sucks so much ass, aside from some awesome parts.


*listens to plan b*

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2011



9517 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

Narshh, I'm glad to hear you've enjoyed it so much. I too very much enjoy Kurt's part of Orange... That song is the definitive highlight of the album for me.

RosaParks, I think I now see the reason why they kicked you off that bus that fateful day ;]

danielito19
October 28th 2011



3083 Comments


I'm going to be so disappointed about the number of top ten lists this shows up on. ugh.

@Rosa, I know! They have quite a few great parts ruined by either Kurt's bullshit, or being placed in the middle of an annoying song

Narshh
October 28th 2011



1186 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Favorite songs right now are probably Orange Time Machine, Think Dirty, Vanity Fair, Truly Random Code, and Blowtorch lol.

Only a couple listens so far though, so I'm sure that'll change/narrow down

SmokingTheClouds
October 28th 2011



639 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sesame Street Is No Place For Me has grown on me quite a bit. Love the Mars Volta-esque cleans.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy