Purplene Purplene
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
br3ad_man
Emeritus
October 25th 2011


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

No worries man. Let us know how you go with that stuff.

static2dope
October 25th 2011


898 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this is so emo

Adabelle
October 25th 2011


4260 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Really enjoying this, great review, especially the last paragraph.

struth
October 25th 2011


435 Comments


fuck i want to move to aus

rasputin
October 25th 2011


14555 Comments


kitchen's floor is pretty sweet

have not heard this, acquiring it asap

br3ad_man
Emeritus
October 25th 2011


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, they're a great band. And you just reminded me I missed another one of their shows a couple weeks ago. Damn.

Eko
October 25th 2011


2119 Comments


first two tracks rule hard

Eko
October 25th 2011


2119 Comments


first two tracks rule hard

Spare
October 25th 2011


5449 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

gonna listen to this so much, lovin' it hard. also quiet steps are great too.

Digging: Forth Wanderers - Tough Love

Spare
October 27th 2011


5449 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i'm keeeping aaaa vigiiil of faiiith

best moment

Irving
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2011


7321 Comments


Dude I can't remember when was the last time I read one of your works on here haha. Still, nice to see an Andrew H. review back on the Staff reviews section! =)

Sig
October 27th 2011


27 Comments


Another Brisbane-ite on Sputnik! You have to give me a list of the local Brisbane bands to watch sometime br3ad_man. I'm mostly into the post-rock side of the scene (Hazards of Swimming Naked, Mr Maps, Screens and I need to get my hands on Nikko's stuff...) but any recommendations would be awesome.

br3ad_man
Emeritus
October 27th 2011


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey man,

A bunch of them were listed above. Some that come to mind immediately: Quiet Steps, Blank Realm, Turnpike, Teargas, No Anchor, To the North, Kitchen's Floor, Slug Guts, Epithets, Scul Hazzards.

Maybe look into Inside the Whale, We Set Sail, Capeweather and Arrows. I haven't seen Screens live yet but they seem decent. There were a few good post-rock-ish bands around a few years ago like Willows and muir but they aren't around anymore. Muir is still doing stuff in Melbourne though.

I don't go to anywhere near as many shows as I'd like but those are some good bands. Come say hi if you're ever at a show. I'm often standing by myself, haha.

DurzoBlint
October 27th 2011


1195 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love swords down.

Also thanks bread man, for the other bands ^_^ I shall look into them. The two I know from the list are really good. In fact eleventh he reaches london are amazing, so if even one of the others is up to their standard I will be happy!

br3ad_man
Emeritus
October 27th 2011


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Eleventh are such a good band. Every time I see them live I'm amazed. All those other bands are excellent as well, especially live.

TheArkitecht
October 28th 2011


1673 Comments


Similar to American Football you say? This will be relevant to my interests, I'll check it out.

SwayzeFaced
October 29th 2011


349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sharks keep moving?

i dig it

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 29th 2011


24098 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is pretty cool

Digging: Mitski - bury me at makeout creek

InFinland
November 1st 2011


1 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Andrew: This is one of the best reviews i've seen of anything in ages. REALLY well written, plus so apt with the comparisons, and in stating how they distinguish themselves from said other bands too. It's a singular record, amongst the finest that Australia's produced.

Thank you for doubly recommended Epithets, too. Glad you think we're in the same realm!! I wonder if you'd like to review our forthcoming record at all?

br3ad_man
Emeritus
November 1st 2011


2125 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey man (is this Nick? I think we met once a couple years ago). Thanks for the compliments, much appreciated. I'd love to review the new Epithets. Loved the new stuff I heard at the last show. Send me an email and I can get onto it.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy