Lou Reed and Metallica Lulu
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
witchxrapist
October 21st 2011


11044 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This is pure art.

Gyromania
October 21st 2011


15941 Comments


That was always Reed's biggest writing influence, and this entire album reads like one long stream-of-consciousness beatnik poem.

And therein lies the problem: it's a terrible idea. I mean, your argument is that the people aren't 'getting' the concept, and that that's key in liking it. Right. Well, okay, sometimes the concept of an album can strengthen one's perspective of the record, but it can also push people further away, too. Especially when the concept is conveyed through piss-poor poetry from a man emulating Johnny Cash while taking the perspective of a prostitute. Some of these songs seem like parodies you'd hear on South Park (I hope they have a field day with this)

Also, Metallica's presence is so weakly felt that they might as well not even be there. Anyone could play these boring riffs.

Digging: Lantlos - .neon

KILL5
October 21st 2011


429 Comments


you are so funny mappers omg xxxxxxxxx

Gmork89
October 21st 2011


5516 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

The lyrics are truly unforgivable, there is no redemption.

Tom93M
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2011


1106 Comments


BEST. SUMMARY. EVER.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 21st 2011


7360 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I actually thought the lyrics were one of the album's few redeeming features.

Athom
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2011


17222 Comments


this is actually pretty good. : /

Gmork89
October 21st 2011


5516 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

"I actually thought the lyrics were one of the album's few redeeming features."


I don't think a perverted juggalo in junior high could come with worse lyrics.


Inveigh
October 21st 2011


25025 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

instrumentalization

Gyromania
October 21st 2011


15941 Comments


...... ADAM NOOOOOO

xfearbefore
October 21st 2011


1245 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

And therein lies the problem: it's a terrible idea. I mean, your argument is that the people aren't 'getting' the concept, and that that's key in liking it. Right. Well, okay, sometimes the concept of an album can strengthen one's perspective of the record, but it can also push people further away, too. Especially when the concept is conveyed through piss-poor poetry from a man emulating Johnny Cash while taking the perspective of a prostitute. Some of these songs seem like parodies you'd hear on South Park (I hope they have a field day with this)


Have you ever read beatnik poetry? Legit question here. Like have you ever done any in-depth actual research into the whole beatnik movement? Read some of Kerouac's most important works? Read "Howl" by Ginsberg? I legitimately think you'd have to have an appreciation for those things to enjoy this album honestly.

JViney
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2011


322 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

xfearbefore - I know it's already considered a legit defence to say "It's a Lou Reed album, not a Metallica album" but as the title states, it's a joint effort. Metallica are intrinsically a part of this thing and the music, although completely uninspiring, is undeniably them. Reed couldn't have created the music himself, I'm sure of it.

To address another point of yours: Yes, I've read a great deal of the 'beatnik' works. I only enjoy Burroughs' stuff from that whole genre. The rest can take a leap. The "massive over-reaction" you cite is, in my opinion, down to the outright disappointment this thing evokes. I personally really wanted it to work. I would have been very happy if it had. Perhaps I have gone a bit OTT in parts (considering I wrote it at 5am to get the jump on the inevitable flood of reviews) but my opinions stem from the distinct feeling of apathy this record brings out in me.

The Sludge
October 21st 2011


2169 Comments


Lululu I got some apples
Lululu I got some too
Lululu lets make some applesauce
And take off our clothes and Lululu

Athom
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2011


17222 Comments


actually this is fucking terrible. if i want to listen to poetry+music ill put on some Gil Scott Heron. Also comparing this to beatnik poetry is a knock on beatnik poetry.

Synda001
October 21st 2011


6 Comments


"Staff reviewer Joseph Viney of Sputnikmusic rated the album one and a half out of five and commented "The fallout from this could have dire consequences. A lot of people, already placing Metallica at the best seat in the house at the Last Chance Saloon have now called last orders. It’s genuinely difficult to guess what their next move will be. As for Reed, his legacy, whatever that means in his case, is cemented and this will have no real effect on him." User ratings on the website have also been overwhelmingly negative."

Wikipedia's entry lol

JViney
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2011


322 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I'm expecting Lars to confiscate my hard-drive any minute now.

MO
October 21st 2011


18865 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

"this is actually pretty good. : /"

you gotta review this adam

Gmork89
October 21st 2011


5516 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Haha, you know Lars is gonna see that right, better watch your back.

JViney
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2011


322 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

What's with Metal Hammer's 7 stars rating system? Odd number to use.

Gyromania
October 21st 2011


15941 Comments


Have you ever read beatnik poetry? Legit question here. Like have you ever done any in-depth actual research into the whole beatnik movement? Read some of Kerouac's most important works? Read "Howl" by Ginsberg? I legitimately think you'd have to have an appreciation for those things to enjoy this album honestly.

Yes, I somewhat like Kerouac. Still, knowledge of a particular subject doesn't necessarily denote deeper pleasure as far as the music itself and lyrics are delivered, not to mention the lyrics themselves are laughable, beatnik poetry or otherwise.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy