Lou Reed and Metallica Lulu
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Meatplow
October 21st 2011



5524 Comments


sludgy riffs in The View are really good

BlackLlama
October 21st 2011



1341 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

“Junior Dad”, at a soul-destroying 20 minutes long, is perhaps one of the most pointless songs committed to record in a long, long time.

Hahahah lol'd

Digging: Acid Reign - The Fear

dnor
October 21st 2011



3978 Comments


Wish I could pos a staff post. I laughed quite a few times during this read.

Oh, and as a Metallica fan...trust me, after hearing ANY of this, no matter who you swear your allegiance to....there is not getting butt-hurt about somebody saying it's bad.

Meatplow
October 21st 2011



5524 Comments


I have no problem with simple, repetitive song structures if they are done well

call it generic if you will, but I think musically if it wasn't for lou's hand here, the overblown
length of the album and the fact that this is metallica and they were once capable of so much more
this might be largely passable rock.

The View is the one song I feel works pretty well. Lets face it, Reed was always kind of
pretentious even during his glory days, and Metallica kinda funny even when they were writing songs
that could be enjoyed non-ironically. I feel sparks here and there that captures *something* they
once had and blends it together into something unique, not enough to really carry this album
through, but still. I think if they just released that one song and called it a day, instead of
making this a major event, that would have been a better decision.

Joshwahh
October 21st 2011



59 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Is the album actually bad, or is it just bad for a Metallica album? (like most people seem to be rating it)

DallyLama
October 21st 2011



1047 Comments


i actually think the lyrics are pretty amazing. reminds me of something chuck palahniuk would write

Tikicobra
October 21st 2011



569 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This album reminds me of when I was like five years old and my sister and I would sing into the mirror and try to sound as awful as we possibly could.

Phideaux
October 21st 2011



1652 Comments


This doesn't sound even remotely good. I will stay far away.

jmh886
October 21st 2011



742 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

havent heard this yet, but i dont like the first paragraph referring to old metallica albums. this has nothing to do with those and your opinion on those albums should have nothing to do with this review. im sure this album is terrible. but it is just an experiment and i dont believe any metallica record in the future will bear any resemblance to it. so keep that in mind. i do look forward to listening to how bad this is though. and lars sucks. someone take crash cymbals away from him.

Amaterasu
October 21st 2011



3 Comments


Is it wrong- as a Metallica fan- that I was actually expecting something very good?

Destructerator
October 21st 2011



845 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

I think they are done, creatively.

Destructerator
October 21st 2011



845 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Jesus christ, Sputnik.

#page { width:800px; overflow:hidden;}

Gyromania
October 21st 2011



14632 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Lol, I see zero redeeming features in this album. Great review, man.

warrar1
October 21st 2011



72 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

the view is decently good...but I havent heard anything else yet.

ian curtis would have been a better choice then lou reed though...oh wait.


Irving
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2011



7007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I won't comment on the actual album itself, not having heard it, but JViney, I was really hoping that you'd commit yourself to a thorough job with this one. It is a pretty "big" release, after all. Your having done not much more than listen to it twice before pumping out a (very loosely strung and palpably incomplete) review makes me feel like I shouldn't believe your opinion...even if common sense dictates that I should.

Digging: Caleb McAlpine - All Things New

taylormemer
October 21st 2011



4887 Comments


Yeah, review felt more disjointed than your others which are pretty much usually flawless. But no big deal.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
October 21st 2011



9463 Comments


Oh my god, the vocals. The vocals. The vocals.

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

bloc
October 21st 2011



34489 Comments


Excited to give this a listen!

Digging: Gamma Ray - Empire of the Undead

Dogget
October 21st 2011



781 Comments


From what I've heard, this album is decades ahead of it's time.

xfearbefore
October 21st 2011



1192 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Boooooo!

Fuck all these negative reviews. I'm going to have to write the first actual positive one I guess. Good review though, well written. I absolutely hate to sound like a pretentious snob, but I honestly think that a large portion of you guys legitimately do not "get" what they were trying to do here, at all. Take a look at the cover. It's crude, crass, vulgar, and directly to the point. Just like the music. Just like the lyrics. Have any of you guys ever studied the beatnik culture? Ever read the works of Kerouac, Ginsberg, Kesey? That was always Reed's biggest writing influence, and this entire album reads like one long stream-of-consciousness beatnik poem. Which I can understand won't appeal to everyone, but this massive over-reaction to this album just amuses me. Like, what the fuck more do you want from Metallica? They gave you your damn thrash album that you all wanted with Death Magnetic. This isn't a Metallica album. This is a Lou Reed album, with Metallica as Lou Reed's backing band. Simple as that. Anyone listening to this album expecting a prototypical "Metallica album" is flat out dumb. Judging this as a Lou Reed album, this is easily Lou's best album in years because of Metallica's great instrumentalization through-out.

Kay, I'm going to have to write a legit review I think. This is like a 3 for me.

Digging: Ultravox - Vienna



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy