Puscifer Conditions of My Parole
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

A 3 actually reads as 'good' on here. Opeth fans will dig it for sure.

Digging: Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Rhythm

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2011


22034 Comments


yeah why is it that when I give a 3 to an album, I see that as a positive rating but then people give 3s to albums they describe as "crap"?

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2011


22034 Comments


how the fuck am I horrible for saying that? if this "good" isn't enough for you, then it isn't good,

AsoTamaki
October 15th 2011


2525 Comments


Seriously. I keep seeing stuff like "this album is meh," or "it's okay for a listen, but I wouldn't really call it good" and then Album Rating: 3. It's like 2.5 = poor instead of average to most users here.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah. It still depends on your expectations. Giving a 3 to your favorite band might be indeed really disappointing. When I say 'meh' it means the album will most probably get a 2 or a 2.5 from me. 3 is decent. 3.5 is good. 4 is great/excellent etc.

Wolfhorde
October 15th 2011


13687 Comments


Oh, Baseline.. so edgy. Try harder.

Still have to give this album a full spin though I like most of the tracks so far, but some seem inconsistent.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2011


22034 Comments


My average rating is something like 3.05.

foreverendeared
October 15th 2011


14678 Comments


I'll probably settle on 3.5 MAYBE 4.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd give it a 3.75 if I could.

foreverendeared
October 15th 2011


14678 Comments


In your heart it's a 3.75

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

God bless my black heart (an obscure music reference)

Acanthus
October 15th 2011


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

@greg84 - It would have, imo, made Thirteenth Step a horrid album. My issue with this album is that it never goes anywhere, and while Maynard can make some interesting slow tracks this just drags on and on.

Digging: MO - No Mythologies To Follow

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I partly agree. I think not all of them, but some tracks certainly don't go anywhere. I stated the exact same thing in my review. Haha.

Acanthus
October 15th 2011


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

It's better than their past albums, but it still feels lacking to me.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah. They definitely have to improve their song craft even more. Plus, I'd prefer a heavier album than this one, but to each his own.

Acanthus
October 15th 2011


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I would as well, but then I suppose that's what Tool/APC are for? The real draw of Puscifer for me has always been their remixes, they've got some great ones.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2011


7433 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I sadly wasn't very interested in their remixes just because V For Vagina was such a letdown. I'll look into them.

Acanthus
October 15th 2011


9545 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'm mainly referring to the work they did on The Underworld films soundtracks, they made me check out the band.

Wolfhorde
October 15th 2011


13687 Comments


"My issue with this album is that it never goes anywhere"
Though that's pretty much exactly the goal of this band, according to Maynard ("a space in my head with no clear or discernible goals"), though yeah - that makes for a lack of consistency.

aerial
October 15th 2011


17 Comments


This album is a grower for sure. First time I heard it I was confused and disappointed... now after about 5 full listens I am enthralled with it. Couldn't disagree more about "Monsoons" you say it's meandering and I think it's pace is perfect and what makes the song. Like ``thirteenth step`` this album was made to listen to as a whole...every song is equal in my opinion. So looking forward to seeing them in Toronto, especially in a theater type setting.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy