Opeth Heritage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mordecai.
October 8th 2011


8279 Comments


album made mordecai a sad panda = (

great review nick-job.

Ire
October 8th 2011


41805 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

but it rules

KILL
October 8th 2011


71981 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yep

Digging: Exodus - Blood In, Blood Out

therayder
October 8th 2011


487 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Hail to Thief is one of my favorite Radiohead albums...

KILL
October 8th 2011


71981 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

lol

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still waiting on that 5 review from the staff. I know one of you isn't too hip to acknowledge the truth.

rushftw
October 8th 2011


75 Comments


^

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 8th 2011


15743 Comments


i dont think any of the active staff are particularly enamored with opeth

RosaParks
October 8th 2011


14936 Comments


sweet review mang correct rating

BassDemon333
October 9th 2011


3413 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Las paragraph of this review basically sums up how I feel about it perfectly. Great review.

Digging: Slipknot - .5: The Gray Chapter

Piglet
October 9th 2011


4659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

There's a lot of analogies in this review

maidenpmcc
October 9th 2011


1425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This album is beautiful and a slow-burning masterpiece, still my 2nd favourite band.

Tyrael
October 9th 2011


20930 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Silent you should write a review for this man

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 9th 2011


7376 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fantastic review, best I've read here for a while. I need to listen to this more, but for now I'm just pleased that they've tried something different rather than just making the same album over and over again.

KronosRage
October 9th 2011


367 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Best review so far, but I disagree

Album rules

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This just in:




Rules.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 9th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Better go edit your blogs, kids.

froghawk
October 9th 2011


137 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

A couple points:

1. There is absolutely no way that this record is better than Hail to the Thief, or even 10,000 Days, but that's just a matter of opinion. Still, the songs on those albums are much better put together than these, the lyrics are better, the vocals are better, the production is better, etc.

2. The intro is actually influenced by jazz based on Swedish folk music - it has nothing to do with French impressionism.

3. Since Robert Fripp has actually delved into metal, perhaps you should pick a different '70s prog guitarist?

4. It's odd that you pick Famine as the standout track, since that's the one most people seem to be considering the worst, myself included. I would say it is in 'outright bad' territory. Again, just a matter of opinion... but it's difficult to even call Famine a song. It's more like a bunch of glued together snippets.

Otherwise, this is a solid review and I agree.

balcaen
October 9th 2011


3183 Comments


And how can something be influenced by jazz if it's based on Swedish folk music? Pretty sure jazz and folk are not the same.


he's putting a ton of buzzwords in a sentence, lol. he's sort of right, it's based off of Jazz pa Svenska by Jan Johansson, which is actually just a swedish jazz album nodding to contemporary french impressionism.

balcaen
October 9th 2011


3183 Comments


nah i know, AND HE'S WRONG TRA LA LAAA



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy