Machine Head Unto the Locust
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
wabbit
September 28th 2011



6745 Comments


man you didn't even neg my review...you're getting pissy in old age

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2011



7011 Comments


Which review?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2011



7011 Comments


(So I can go back and neg it)

booreno62
September 28th 2011



69 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Where did all the negs. go? It was 6/14 and now it's 9/10?

wabbit
September 28th 2011



6745 Comments


not happening

RosaParks
September 28th 2011



14592 Comments


bad review. yay now i can legally neg

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2011



8581 Comments


Not the sort of music I traditionally listen to (much prefer traditional groove like Sepultura, or other bands like Soulfly, Rise to Remain, Skindred etc.).


i don't normally listen to black metal. i listen to gorgoroth, emperor and burzum instead. :]

Digging: Triptykon - Melana Chasmata

Spec
September 28th 2011



26834 Comments


zing

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2011



9483 Comments


"Unless the goal was to be a magniloquent caricature of a review."

Your thesaurus is content!

Digging: Koan Sound - Dynasty

rasputin
September 28th 2011



14504 Comments


fantastic review

rasputin
September 28th 2011



14504 Comments


Now at 2011, and we have and some sort of delusional insect model being dished up by frontman turned band-producer


typo, I think that second 'and' shouldn't be there

Not the sort of music I traditionally listen to (much prefer traditional groove like Sepultura, or other bands like Soulfly, Rise to Remain, Skindred etc.). I'm just open minded.


looool

MO
September 29th 2011



17364 Comments


Nice review man.

Digging: Soundtrack - Turok 2: Seeds of Evil OST

taylormemer
September 29th 2011



4887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ok, so to firstly adress the dissenters, I don't hate this album, it's really a solid 3, but not quite a 3.5 - obviously in my opinion. Secondly, yes I did listen to The Blackening for inspiration because this is really a by product of the tone accross that album.

Rasp, I have considered your suggestion and agree with it. Thanks dude.

Ipod, I generally like to think along the lines of more is usually less, and I don't like to reiterate permutations of the same ideas. Further, if I'm writing to an audience who generally known who Machine Head are then I generally won't go into the intricacies of their instrumentation or sound unless it's of some kind of actual distinction from anything they did before. When I have more ideas to express, then I express it in more content, but if I feel like I can convey my message in 300 words then so be it. Obviously, there are some who are alienated by that concept, and that's fine.

Irving, I'm sorry you feel that way, but I wonder if you're conclusions would be as dire if not for the brilliant display of fanboyism and discredit during the first few pages? Also, isn't this a case of the pot calling the kettle black with respect to verbosity? Either way I respect and appreciate your input.

As always, I thank the users who have shown a good level of maturity, which unfortunately is the same users as always. Are there any newbies who are actually not dumbasses?

Ah, I love this place.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2011



30297 Comments


Let's hug and make love

Digging: L'Orange - The Orchid Days

taylormemer
September 29th 2011



4887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If the ditch wasn't so expansive, I would.

pcar
September 29th 2011



530 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

What I don't quite understand is how people think "3" means bad

oh well, album is average anyways

2deep4me

NodScene23
September 29th 2011



247 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nothing wrong with a concise review but I think this album is deserving of more analysis. You seem to possess some fairly concrete conclusions about the album and Machine Head as a whole but aren't quite willing to delve into the origins of your thoughts that much. I think you could easily do so and still write a punchy review. I guess I'll just have to take your word for it that these broad conclusions are pretty well considered and not just the result of you being overly reactionary to the album after a listen or two?

taylormemer
September 29th 2011



4887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Certainly not reactionary.

NodScene23
September 29th 2011



247 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Whatever you say man. Solid review overall I guess. I'll pos.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2011



8581 Comments


I don't hate this album, it's really a solid 3, but not quite a 3.5 - obviously in my opinion.


i really hate it when people feel the need to say 'in my opinion' because it's strongly implied by the fact that you shared your opinion.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy