Mastodon The Hunter
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
dannyboy89
April 4th 2014


13330 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Lev

BM

Rem

CtS

This

InbredJed
April 4th 2014


6468 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah I saw them with Opeth on this tour, they were solid but very reserved. I wouldn't go so far to say it was phoned in, cause when they played Hand Of Stone, CTS and Aqua Dementia it was badass.



Seeing the Hunter tracks life raised my rating from a 1 to a 2.5, but those tracks still had zero feeling compared to stuff from the previous albums.

Emyay
April 4th 2014


6251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

new album will be 4.5-5



i don't know how stargasm and all the heavy lifting have no feeling. title track and the sparrow have

tones of emotion too

InbredJed
April 4th 2014


6468 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

No, prob 3 at best

DominionMM1
April 4th 2014


12207 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

2.5 indubitably

Digging: Amenra - Alive

dannyboy89
April 4th 2014


13330 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I wouldn't expect another Lev, but I'd be happy with something less cheesy.



We'll just have to wait and see.

InbredJed
April 4th 2014


6468 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Once More Around the Sock

Emyay
April 4th 2014


6251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah i agree that the album will def be 2.5-3 range for y'all. not gonna be another remission so i look forward to seeing everyone bitch about it when its clear they won't return to that style. i was just saying it will probs be 4.5-5 for me.

InbredJed
April 4th 2014


6468 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I wonder if you can buy Mastodon stock yet?

Emyay
April 4th 2014


6251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

would be a bad investment

evilford
April 4th 2014


32086 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

lol

evilford
April 4th 2014


32086 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

get in on that mastodon IPO

Tremz
April 4th 2014


443 Comments


evilford returns

InbredJed
April 4th 2014


6468 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I knew when the ring tone card came with my copy of BM that the end had come. Goddamn Warner Bros.

dannyboy89
April 4th 2014


13330 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Sup ford

Emyay
April 4th 2014


6251 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the hunter ranked:



all the heavy lifting (that chorus)

stargasm (same)

the hunter (that solo)

dry bone valley (brann's vox)

curl of the burl (silly, but that riff gets me every time. so catchy)

octopus has no friends (guitar work is crazy, but still catchy)

the sparrow (nice melancholic closer)

black tongue (overall just very solid)

the creature lives (have to be in the right mood but i love how uplifting this is)

bedazzled fingernails (troy in the verses sounds amazing)

spectrelight (throwback to their heavier side and still pretty fun)

thickening (not the best but brent sounds pre cool and drugged out)

blasteroid (is only fun live)

TalonsOfFire
Contributing Reviewer
April 5th 2014


14894 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is much more listenable and enjoyable than their other albums. Hopefully their new one will follow the same style

Digging: Katatonia - The Fall of Hearts

MeatSalad
April 5th 2014


16405 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

T/t and sparrow are the only songs on here I dont hate

Digging: Vektor - Terminal Redux

climactic
April 5th 2014


21612 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

good rock/metal album, shitty mastodon album.

LordePots
April 5th 2014


28540 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

no its just a shitty album

Digging: Sepalcure - Folding Time



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy