Mastodon The Hunter
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MeatSalad
March 21st 2014


15871 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

It seems that Hinds tried too hard to sound like Peter Gabriel on this album.




what

Digging: Rosetta - Quintessential Ephemera

Emim
March 21st 2014


26701 Comments


I have a signed copy of this that I got from Wal Mart right before the signing. It is also the edited version.

Also the band was douchey as all get out, and played for about an hour and a half with Brann throwing down the most monotonous double bass the entire time. The SPLIT YOUR LUNGS WITH BLOOD AND THUNDER moment was epic but these guys got destroyed by Red Fang and Dillinger, who also played that night.


So yeah, thought I'd share.

osmark86
March 21st 2014


4728 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"It seems that Hinds tried too hard to sound like Peter Gabriel on this album."



yeah, I don't really see what you mean at all.

Digging: Vattnet Viskar - Settler

InbredJed
March 21st 2014


6259 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Insipid [2]

BigPleb
March 21st 2014


41252 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"It seems that Hinds tried too hard to sound like Peter Gabriel on this album."



It seems that the whole band just wanted to make a boring as shite album.

Emyay
March 21st 2014


6153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

it seems like there are a bunch of retards in this thread

NeroCorleone80
March 21st 2014


31905 Comments


meh

BigPleb
March 21st 2014


41252 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Go jam some Napalm Death bro and forget all about this sordid mess.

InbredJed
March 21st 2014


6259 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Having a different opinion =/= retard, retard.

Emyay
March 21st 2014


6153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

couldn't agree more jed, but when that different opinion, is in fact retarded, it does lead one to believe that the person stating it, is in fact a retard

dannyboy89
March 21st 2014


13146 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I guess what I meant is that the vox feel overdone on this album.



And yes, they did make me think of PG.



Mastodon works best when the vox don't stick out too much, I said something like that befor

dannyboy89
March 21st 2014


13146 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I guess what I meant is that the vox feel overdone on this album.



And yes, they did make me think of PG.



Mastodon works best when the vox don't stick out too much, I said

something like that before.



Shit, double post.

Emyay
March 21st 2014


6153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i think i'm weird about the vocals that i like but i really love the singing on newer mastodon

conesmoke
March 21st 2014


5374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I don't see how, because it's appalling... (offensively bad) just listen to friggen spectrelight or blasteroids....

Emyay
March 21st 2014


6153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

bad examples bro. both of those have harsh vocals on them which is what all the old school fans are clamoring for. those aren't some of my favorites here but they are fun live

dannyboy89
March 21st 2014


13146 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

This def doesn't touch Remission, Leviathan or Blood Mountain for me, but this is a divisive band so many will disagree with me.

InbredJed
March 21st 2014


6259 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

@ Emyay: look dude, the fact that you're even willing to throw around the word "retarded" shows how much class you have, but this isn't about that.



This is about freedom of expression. By referring to the ppl in this thread who see this album as a decline in quality from Mastodon's previous efforts as having some sort of mental deficiency, you are refusing the merits of any insight, experience or opinions we have. Thats your choice, and you're allowed to have it, it's just lame cause presentation of argument and allowing the changing of options is part of what appeals to me about this community.



Next time do yourself and everyone else a service by forming a legitimate opinion before you denigrate someone else for theirs.

Emyay
March 21st 2014


6153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

you summed up what i did exactly. the only difference is that i did so intentionally. i'm not the kind

of person who would use that as an actual argument. i've had actual discussions in this thread and

others about this album and points have been made for both sides and i respect the opinions that

differ from mine. i was merely resorting to such childishness as a lighthearted jab to the folks in

the thread bc at the moment there was a lot of negativity towards the album, which is fine. i didn't

mean it to be taken any other way than that.

InbredJed
March 21st 2014


6259 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

word bro,



that's the shitty thing about text, sarcasm/jokes are hard to detect sometimes. Thanks for taking the time to explain your words.



I dig hearing the diverse opinions about this album in particular, since my own seems so obvious to me.



I look forward to further discussions, as I may have over-looked something in forming my opinion, and insight could be gained.

adarkishman
March 21st 2014


626 Comments


wow wtf



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy