Andrew Jackson Jihad Knife Man
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Polymath
October 2nd 2011



3836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Great dig, man. ^

Scoot
October 3rd 2011



17477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

might get this

Digging: Acme - To Reduce the Choir to One Soloist

Swingfinger
October 4th 2011



100 Comments


I was listening to Randy Newman and thought to myself "He has to be them most pessimistic songwriter ever." Then I turned this album on and by the time the line "hope is for presidents and dreams are for people that are sleeping" came up I had found a new winner.

Some really hilarious lyrics here but I find it hard to sit down and listen to the entire album.

Drsmith4
October 5th 2011



1693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just heard this today, gonna hold off on giving it a rating.

Love it.

YetAnotherBrick
October 5th 2011



4315 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Holy crap. This may be my first 5 of the year.

Digging: The Beatles - Revolver

Comatorium.
October 5th 2011



3999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Just 5 it bro.

YetAnotherBrick
October 5th 2011



4315 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

SO IF I SEE A PENNY ON THE GROUND
I LEAVE IT ALONE OR FUCKIN' FLIP IT
I'M A STRAIGHT WHITE MALE IN AMERICA,
I'VE GOT ALL THE LUCK I NEED

Drsmith4
October 5th 2011



1693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is going to be one of those albums, the sort that people fall incrementally in love with.

Lucid
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2011



6956 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ Agreed. This is the closest we'll come to having a The Monitor in 2011. I'm digging this hard.

Digging: Wild Beasts - Present Tense

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2011



7226 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^That's exactly what I thought when I first listened.

Comatorium.
October 6th 2011



3999 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

IM A GUY GETTING PAID MORE THAN A GIRL WITH A DEGREEEE
I CAN WALK DOWN THE STREETS AFTER DARK NO ONES WANTS TO RAPE MEEE

Drsmith4
October 6th 2011



1693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Slanted and Enchanted + The Monitor = Knife Man

Think about it

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2011



23612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

uh oh but I think Slanted and Enchanted is boring as fuck and find The Monitor overrated. shiiiiiiit imma hate this aren't I?

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

robin
Emeritus
October 6th 2011



4221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no because that comparison while cool, is completely unfounded

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2011



23612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"S&E is the only truly great Pavement album gtfo"

yeah I dont like Pavement at all though. they were terrible when I saw them live (at a festival)

i just tried to download this but my internet cut out halfway through and now the link won't work =(

oh well Ill try again another day. im not in any rush to get this.

Drsmith4
October 6th 2011



1693 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

For me - and I seriously doubt I'm alone on this - Slanted and Enchanted works so well not necessarily because of its DIY aesthetic, but because of its rare sound: casual and effortless. Both of these elements are very present here. Also, this album's lyrical fixations occasionally flirt with the same breed of ironic, sarcastic humor that's absolutely rampant in Pavement releases, especially on their earlier records.

And anyone who disputes the similarities between this and The Monitor is wrong.

robin
Emeritus
October 6th 2011



4221 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i can understand the comparison but i don't think they have a similar feel. that might be because ive been listening to AJJ far longer than titus andronicus though so the self-depracation is AJJ's own thing for me

WeepingBanana
October 6th 2011



9893 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The Monitor and S&E are basically completely different so...

i don't get the comparison

Scoot
October 7th 2011



17477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fucking awesome

so cynical /m/m/m/m

psykonaut
October 8th 2011



3913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

god damn america

what are you a terrorist



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy