Dream Theater A Dramatic Turn of Events
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Drsmith4
January 2nd 2012


1715 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

The last page was a barrel of laughs, what are you talking about?

zxlkho
February 16th 2012


3465 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I don't get it.

Palimpsest
April 10th 2012


77 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Where to even begin with this review? Your Buddhist/Karma analogy seems really half-baked and incoherent. You say that DT should have disappeared over a decade ago but then praise them for being professionals who love what they do and have a dedicated fanbase. Those are really the types of bands you want to disappear?

And if there's anything you shouldn't call Dream Theater, it's predictable. They vary their sound from record to record, and most songs contain a myriad of key and tempo changes. Dream Theater is a very hit or miss band for me but I wouldn't dare call them predictable. Also, what the fuck are these supposed to mean?

"the rampant callousness with which they treat their role as progressive metal ambassadors"

"bombastic song titles that use polysyllabic, apocalypse-referencing words in an attempt to sound grandiose."


Parallels
April 10th 2012


6641 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I think he means predictable in how it's Dream Theater's most stereotypical sounding album.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
May 10th 2012


7307 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I was going to dignify your comment with a well-thought out response, Palimpsest, but then I realized that Parallels understood exactly what I was trying to say almost immediately, so I'm going to say a simple "lol" instead.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

TY2810
July 13th 2012


110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What a pretentious review, half of this is totally unnecessary.

Mabbitt
October 31st 2012


1369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I see what you're saying here, but I completely disagree. I feel like on the past few albums DT had been straying away from their true sound that fits them well and trying to do other things that don't work as well, so this album is more of a return to -true- Dream Theater, and is one of my favorite, if not my favorite, albums they've made.

It'd be nice if they tried something a little different, but this is DT doing DT very well, and as long as they continue to do that, i'll be satisfied. There are other bands if I want to listen to something that sounds different.

OmairSh
October 31st 2012


11165 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

DT ripping themselves off too much. Well you're lucky you feel that way because maybe DT will rip themselves off for a while, since its gotten a positive response from most fans.

Digging: Gazpacho - Night

TY2810
November 17th 2012


110 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

coming back to this months later I do now agree with most of your review and you definitely write well but it still comes off as very pretentious

OmairSh
November 17th 2012


11165 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

*yawn

OmairSh
September 13th 2013


11165 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

dumdeedum

BigPleb
September 16th 2013


36740 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

New album is streaming.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2013


20753 Comments


Only for people in the UK though I think. Judging by the comments on the page where it's streaming.

Digging: Townes Van Zandt - Townes Van Zandt

BigPleb
September 16th 2013


36740 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah, oh well :D

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2013


20753 Comments


hehe :D


Mangini is sounding a lot better than he does on here, as expected.

BigPleb
September 16th 2013


36740 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Digging so far tbh.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2013


20753 Comments


Last track rules so far.

CycleMotion
September 18th 2013


61 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a grower definetely, variety of sounds and composition. Melodic and Rudess shine on this one. I like it very much! ;)

Mongi123
Contributing Reviewer
September 24th 2013


10399 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Got my dad this for his birthday and he loves it so far. Was trying to find Metropolis part 2 but this was the only DT album I could find.

OmairSh
September 24th 2013


11165 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Well its one of the most formulaic



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy