Dream Theater A Dramatic Turn of Events
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


7275 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Has always been their biggest turnoff, as if LaBrie's voice alone doesn't work the nerves enough already.

Word. Word. Word. Labrie is decent for the most part I guess, but sometimes I just want to wince at his vocal performances. Not to mention there are those occasional ill-timed imitations of both Dave Mustaine and James Hetfield of his.

Oh, and to be fair, it is mostly Petrucci that does all the lyrical mangling.

Digging: U2 - Songs of Innocence

Nagrarok
September 22nd 2011


8245 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I do realize the lyrics mostly aren't his fault, but well, HE sings them.

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


7275 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hahahaha yeah he really could have stood up and said "No way Petrucci man I'm not singing that shit" XD

By not doing anything major about them, I guess that effectively makes him equally culpable.

iFghtffyrdmns
September 22nd 2011


7047 Comments


"I wanted to use the line "A dramatic turd of events" as the summary. But that wouldn't be very professional, would it?"

no, that would have been perfectly professional.

ILJ
September 22nd 2011


6670 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I mostly agree with this. I was highly disappointed with this album. I think maybe they should have just taken that five year hiatus that Portnoy wanted them to. Not for Portnoy, but so they would have more time to actually generate fresh ideas.

Tyrael
September 22nd 2011


20876 Comments


Omg first Xeno's Opeth review and now this :/
At least your review actually reads like you know what you're talking about so yeah...

Pos.

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

BigHans
September 22nd 2011


26454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

LIVE ANOTHER DAY

CLIMB A LITTLE HIGHER

FIND ANOTHER REASON TO STAYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

wait, wrong album

TheNotrap
September 22nd 2011


8069 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Hahaha

Digging: Cannibal Corpse - A Skeletal Domain

zxlkho
September 22nd 2011


3463 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

This is a fantastic review. Exactly how I feel about this album.

yourmother1234
September 22nd 2011


3 Comments


band is faggoty

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


15980 Comments


review is perfect

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

FearThyEvil
September 22nd 2011


12545 Comments


Is this actually worth checking out?

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


50362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Sure

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

ShinXetsu
September 22nd 2011


605 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

If you like Dream Theater you're still gonna like the album, it's just aside from Breaking All Illusions the material is pretty good but never above that.

RosaParks
September 22nd 2011


14908 Comments


sweet review

tiesthatbind
September 22nd 2011


7374 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

They should put out an groove metal album, that would be cool.

Hans, you might like Train of Thought if you haven't heard that one. It's their heaviest, most riff-based album (still really wanky though).

Good review Irving.

Digging: xSPONGEXCOREx - How Tough Are Yah?

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


7275 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I influenced your review! My life is complete XD

Haha I love you Pizz; most adorable thing ever XD

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


7275 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thanks for all the kind words guys - much appreciated!

Also I haven't got nearly as many troll neg votes as I expected hahahah (famous last words).

pizzamachine
September 22nd 2011


12571 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

14 of 15 thought this review was well written

Pretty good stats methinks!


Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
September 22nd 2011


50362 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

All of their albums post Metropolis Pt. 2 are too wanky



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy