Thrice Major/Minor
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
tiesthatbind
September 21st 2011


7374 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That was Emim, he changed it a while back.

Digging: xSPONGEXCOREx - How Tough Are Yah?

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Emim? What is this an Office reunion? This is going to be like the Fearless thread for Taylor Swift all over again, which is a shame because I actually tried to make this review good.

Digging: Yellowcard - Lift a Sail

tkxxx7
September 21st 2011


6153 Comments


That is where Major/Minor steps in to complete Thrice’s evolution.


this is a strange sentence

It’s the same old Thrice that continues to give us something truly new, which in today’s era, is a gift that will never die.


should read "truly new which, in today's era, is" or "truly new, which- in today's era- is"

Also, could you italicize the lyrics? I don't mean to sound picky or anything and this a really good review but it makes it harder for me to read.

TomArnoldsArmpit
September 21st 2011


3011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lovely review, Mr. Season!

tiesthatbind
September 21st 2011


7374 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Alright, getting this back on track then, what's your favorite track? I gotta go with the Sputnik consensus and say Anthology.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the comma could go after which or new, depending on how you read it

and I don't see anything wrong with that sentence, what do you find strange about it?

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Armpit: Thanks! Always nice to hear : )

@ties: nothing wrong with getting a little off track, especially when it has to do with the office ; ) ... but anyway my favorite tracks are "Promises", "Treading Paper", "Anthology" and "Disarmed"...hard to say which one is the best but I'd probably go with Disarmed right now

tkxxx7
September 21st 2011


6153 Comments


give us something truly new, which in today’s era, is a gift that will never die.


I don't remember what the name of the part of speech is called, but 'which' is supposed to be outside of the commas

and I don't see anything wrong with that sentence, what do you find strange about it?


There is nothing wrong with it at all. I guess I expected something else, or different phrasing. That's what strange about it

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

you might be right about that comma then, i'll consider changing it in the morning

thanks for the feedback!

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2011


28523 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i think the only thing wrong about it is your choice of words

"in today's era" ... this whole sentence is playing with time and change, old and new... why place it in "today's era" and then immediately follow with a statement that it will "never die" ... just would be better without "in today's era" imo

btw this is really nit-picky. as a review this is more than adequate and i pos'd.

Digging: Chris Brown - X

tiesthatbind
September 21st 2011


7374 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Screw it, bumping the rating. This album is so consistent.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2011


16019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

thanks academy, and I'm not trying to resist constructive criticism or anything when I say this, but what's wrong with saying in today's era? i think that with the rate music is consumed in today's society, an album possessing a completely fresh quality that will in essence make it timeless could be described using both "in today's era" and "never die"

i could be wrong for sure, just wanted you to see what i was thinking when i wrote it

@ties: solid choice, solid choice.

Phideaux
September 21st 2011


1654 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Still have to hear this. Loved all their other stuff though. I'll read the review tomorrow.

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2011


28523 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

again, there's nothing technically wrong with it, it's just a question of style.

also, if something is timeless, it has no place in any era

TomArnoldsArmpit
September 21st 2011


3011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Anthology, Call It In The Air and Promises are the tracks I like the most. Everything else is just so meh for me. I understand that musically, it's a "really good" record. I just can't get into this or Beggars. At all.

Ignimbrite
September 21st 2011


5344 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Words In the Water is the best here imo

Digging: This Will Destroy You - Another Language

kingjulian
September 21st 2011


1297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Got this in the mail today and just took a night drive to listen through it. Utterly stunning. The first half of the album has some room to grow on me for sure but seriously the whole second half, from Treading Paper on just blew me away. The end of Disarmed is one of the most beautiful things I've heard in a while. Will hold off on a rating till a few more listens but it's easily at least a 4.

kingjulian
September 21st 2011


1297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Oh and nice review. Pos'd.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 21st 2011


31173 Comments


In b4 Irving shows up and pulls a big rubbery one

Digging: LV and Joshua Idehen - Islands

TomArnoldsArmpit
September 21st 2011


3011 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

A used condom?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy