Opeth Heritage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 22nd 2013



20600 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is pretty good so far. dunno why it gets so much shit

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

Tyrael
March 22nd 2013



20719 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

1) people expect opeth to make metal, not prog rock
2) people haven't heard camel

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 22nd 2013



20600 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yea but a lot of people give damnation love even though its not metal either (iirc i havent heard the whole thing)

Underflow
March 22nd 2013



2522 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

lmao

NeroCorleone80
March 22nd 2013



28337 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nobody should really be surprised at this direction. It was obvious that Watershed hinted at Opeth
becoming more prog inclined since it featured more cleans than growls. That album was pretty much just
prog rock/metal with some growls thrown in.

Underflow
March 22nd 2013



2522 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

The problem with this album is that every song has some weird, obnoxious bit that doesn't add to it
like the synth fart in I Feel The Dark, that, and the songs' different parts or "movements" feel cut
and pasted together in the most slip-shod fashion possible, leaving the album a contrived mess
composed of the occasional cool bit interspersed with a copious amount of wank.

oltnabrick
March 22nd 2013



30052 Comments


slip-shod

Digging: Stellar OM Source - Ocean Woman

Underflow
March 22nd 2013



2522 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Hi, olt

oltnabrick
March 22nd 2013



30052 Comments


Sup guy

sjp55555
March 22nd 2013



85 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If you knew nothing about Opeth's back catalog and liked chilled 70's style prog you would like this record.

Underflow
March 22nd 2013



2522 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Nahhhh

VanSchuldiner
March 22nd 2013



659 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

used to think this pretty average release then grows on me .
Raised from 2.5-3,hope i can like it more though

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 22nd 2013



20600 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm thinking a high 3.5-4 after one listen

MeatSalad
March 22nd 2013



14115 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yee

Digging: Love - Forever Changes

JS19
March 22nd 2013



4154 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

You guys have made me listen to this 4 times in the past week and it's still bad to my ears. Damn. I want to like it.

Digging: Sadistik - Ultraviolet

Underflow
March 22nd 2013



2522 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

The doom metal jethro tull bit in Famine

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



19908 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

composed of the occasional cool bit interspersed with a copious amount of wank.


There really isn't that much wank on here.


Famine is prob my least favourite on the album, still good though.

Keyblade
March 23rd 2013



14153 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ins noez

Digging: Paraxism - .Xism Excursion

SgtPepper
Staff Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



4378 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah this is a good album, the only song that really frustrates me is "Nepenthe" because I feel like those insane solo breaks should last for WAY longer than they do. Fredrik and Martin are grooving on that one.

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 23rd 2013



19908 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nepenthe is one of my favourite tracks on the album. I see what you mean though, they could have expanded on those solo breaks a bit.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy