Opeth Heritage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2013



20450 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah definitely.

Emyay
March 4th 2013



5945 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

i'm not saying i'm surprised that they went full progtard, i actually think it was way too predictable.

Damnation > Heritage

its proggy i guess...but it sounds unlike most prog that i've heard. whereas this just sounds like camel/tull/crimson

pissbore
March 4th 2013



9935 Comments


the prog was evident right from the beginning with orchid

plebs will be plebs

MO
March 4th 2013



18522 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

yea lern 2 peth

demigod!
March 4th 2013



44161 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yo piss you should check this you'd dig it i think

Digging: Failure - Magnified

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2013



20450 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the prog was evident right from the beginning with orchid


Agreed and it pretty much became more and more prominent from then on.

OmairSh
March 4th 2013



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Damnation wasn't very old school prog, it was quality atmospheric melodic rock, or something of that sort.

Digging: Paco de Lucia - El Duende Flamenco

pissbore
March 4th 2013



9935 Comments


yeah ill get around to this eventually

Emyay
March 4th 2013



5945 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

JT twisted my words around. just because 70s prog was a likely direction given their influences, it doesn't mean it was a good idea. thats why i asked "but why 70s prog?". not because i was fucking shocked when heritage came out

demigod!
March 4th 2013



44161 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i think it was a great idea. maybe Mikael's getting tired of metal? he is getting older, and has been playing that style for nearly two decades. Let him indulge on one of his other passions for a while.

OmairSh
March 4th 2013



10868 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Which direction should they have taken Emyay? Apart from the obvious trip hop option

JamieTwort
Contributing Reviewer
March 4th 2013



20450 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fair enough Emyay, it seems I misunderstood your post. It does seem like some people were surprised by it though.

pissbore
March 4th 2013



9935 Comments


JT twisted my words around

if you read his response i think it becomes blatantly clear that he was simply answering your question

Keyblade
March 4th 2013



14718 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

why not 70's prog?

Digging: Strawberry Switchblade - Strawberry Switchblade

YankeeDudel
March 4th 2013



9311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i agree with emyay. this album is a cool little throwback but if opeth is just gonna start rehashing the 70s the rest of their career that will be pretty lame to me. they need to switch things up again or at least add another twist to it.

Digging: Soundtrack - Heavy Metal

Emyay
March 4th 2013



5945 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

if you read his response i think it becomes blatantly clear that he was simply answering your question

he wasn't, but it's cool he already acknowledged it. i may not have been as clear as I wanted to be. i merely asked the question in the first place so that i could go on to explain why i thought it was a bad idea.

i just think that they shouldn't just stick to one genre (in this case 70s prog). part of the charm of opeth is how they are able to mix genres in such an awesome way. i'm not saying that there shouldn't be 70s prog influence either...just mix it up a bit. like i said before, this feels like coasting just like watershed feels like coasting (in that case coasting on the old formula, and in heritage's case coasting on a formula from the 70s)

NeroCorleone80
March 4th 2013



28829 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There should be some psychedelia on the next album.

Digging: Howlin Wolf - Howlin' Wolf/Moanin' in the Moonlight

MO
March 4th 2013



18522 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"part of the charm of opeth is how they are able to mix genres in such an awesome way."

I agree, but aside from metal, I don't think they'd be able to implement a new combination with prog that wouldn't make it sound incredibly try-hard/shit.

Since his voice is shot, all they can really do is do the instrumentals ala metal, but the vox would stay the same, and there's way too many bands like that these days.

YankeeDudel
March 4th 2013



9311 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what made opeth a great band to start with was their originality. nobody mixed prog with death metal as well as them before. to just retread in becoming camel worship is weak. if some unknown band put this album out as their first album nobody would care and everyone would be calling it derivative false prog lol.

basically creative minds should keep creating something new. not retreading. its why I love guys like thom yorke because even if some of their recent stuff has been met with mixed reviews they still push themselves.

Emyay
March 4th 2013



5945 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

what made opeth a great band to start with was their originality. nobody mixed prog with death metal as well as them before. to just retread in becoming camel worship is weak. if some unknown band put this album out as their first album nobody would care and everyone would be calling it derivative false prog lol.

basically creative minds should keep creating something new. not retreading. its why I love guys like thom yorke because even if some of their recent stuff has been met with mixed reviews they still push themselves.


yep.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy