Opeth Heritage
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
GodL1ke
September 17th 2011


804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah you gotta know how to proggin' prog

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2011


6148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Coming off of the high that was 2005's Ghost Reveries, their follow up, 2008's Watershed was more than lacking, it was a wee bit stagnant

I totally agree, after all Ghost Reveries was the beginning of the end for the classic line-up, many say Akerfeldt was Opeth from scratch, that's not true, Lindgren was as good as Akerfeldt in the guitars, if not better.


but after ten full lengths they're starting to develop a moderate case of Dream Theater syndrome, although obviously less self-indulgent.

true. but as you aptly say, they are not even as half decayed, as DT are right now.



superb review, i myself am between 3 and 3.5 for this as well.

Digging: Raven Throne - ???????? ?????????

GodL1ke
September 17th 2011


804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Lindgren was as good as Akerfeldt in the guitars, if not better."

yeah but lindgren was a shit songwriter

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2011


6148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah but lindgren was a shit songwriter


How do you reckon that?

All albums up to Ghost Reveries are the shit (with Ghost Reveries not being as good as the previous albums though), while everything else is hit or miss.

hint: Lindgren wasn't playing in the last two albums.

GodL1ke
September 17th 2011


804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

akerfeldt once said in an interview that lindgren had presented some of his riffs to be used in the watershed album.

i don't remember his exact words but his general message was that when the members sat together to listen to the tape they all looked at each other and were like wtf? lindgren wasn't there at that moment..i remember thinking to myself that it was a bit disrespectful to diss him like that in an interview.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2011


16410 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Didn't like this at all

Digging: Blut Aus Nord - Memoria Vetusta III ? Saturnian Poetry

MO
September 17th 2011


18776 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I still think lindgren contributed more than we know to the songwriting. Since he's been gone it seems like Mike has gotten a abit lazy.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2011


6148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still think lindgren contributed more than we know to the songwriting. Since he's been gone it seems like Mike has gotten a abit lazy.


I believe that too.

taylormemer
September 17th 2011


4917 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I remember buying Watershed, and was at the time still weaning onto Opeth. Full circle, and for whatever reason I haven't had enough drive to do the same, despite my adoration for the band's achievements.

GodL1ke
September 17th 2011


804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

all i think he did was write the harmonized versions of guitar riffs present in the first two albums. mike may have gotten lazy but i'm pretty sure lindgren hardly contributed to the discography except a few riffs scattered over 8 albums

Undead
September 17th 2011


144 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nice review but its better than a 3/5.

MikeC26
September 17th 2011


3181 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Lindgren was a HUGE part of Opeth. He had a stage presence that is far more suited for the band than Akesson.

BassDemon333
September 17th 2011


3383 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lindgren and Lopez both being gone took a bit of a toll on the band. Sure they were replaced, but some of the bands best works had Lindgren and Lopez playing on them. Watershed and Heritage still arent as good as the albums they played on.

Voivod
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2011


6148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lopez would be superb for Heritage, taking into account his work in Still Life.

Jethro42
September 17th 2011


12456 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lopez was excellent and all and had contributed a lot to Opeth' sound. But he got slightly repetitive on the long run, imo

MO
September 17th 2011


18776 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

^ definitely. One prime example being his beat in the opening of The Moor, right where the drums kick in. That's like, his staple beat. He used it so much. The man's fills were unreal though.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2011


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Supposedly, he wasn't allowed to do as much on drums as he could. Would've loved to see more Latin jazz drum work from him.

GodL1ke
September 17th 2011


804 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah he's better than axe for sure, but i guess axe is still learning and getting better. hopefully he really shines in the next record

Jethro42
September 17th 2011


12456 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Both drummers are exactly in the same league. On the top.

MO
September 17th 2011


18776 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"yeah he's better than axe for sure, but i guess axe is still learning and getting better. hopefully he really shines in the next record"

Axe has seriously stepped up his game with these latest two albums though. He has quite a bit of creativity, it's actually really suprising considering he is primarily a death metal drummer. For such a dramatic shift he's pulling his weight nicely.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy